Best Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
TO DIE FOR!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Overall this is a really great dip...I added lemon juice and more dill and garlic than the recipe called for. It still could have used a bit more to be honest. I also added Old Bay both into the mix and then a top. I omitted the artichoke hearts and capers as I didn't want them to over power the crab per others suggestion. I used Chicken Of The Sea jumbo lump crab not in a can, but in a plastic tub. It was really good - not quite the same as fresh SM Seafood but not fishy at all and very fresh. Overall it's a good recipe but could have used a little more flavor. I kind of wonder had I not omitted the capers and artichoke would I have felt the same...next time I'm thinking of adding them back, but maybe just not quite what the recipe called for...Thanks Joelleflynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRACYRE
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. This is the best crab dip ever. I made it last fall and it was a huge hit. Today I made it and pumped up the volume on the spices. 1 full teaspoon dill and 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay went into the mix, another 1/2 teaspoon Old Bay sprinkled on top. Also added a few dashes of cayenne. (And I never add buttermilk, I like my dip a little thick) I bake in a casserole dish and dip with crusty artisan breads. PS I have the strangest (pregnancy induced) aversion to garlic ---so I halved the minced garlic for this recipe and it still turned out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent crab dip! I make it with low fat cheeses, sour cream and cream cheese and it's still delish! I add more Old Bay because my family loves it. I don't always have artichoke hearts or buttermilk on hand and it doesn't change the taste of the recipe at all. I always toast sliced french bread to serve with it. Thanks Joeelleflynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
Not too shabby. I took the advice of some others and nixed the canned crab for fake, but the dip ended up tasting a little sweet with it. Next time I will stick with canned or real. Also, I think the dip needs just a little bit of a kick- so next time I will also try adding a little more old bay and cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I made this with imitation crab and it was still delicious. Received rave reviews when I brought it to a get-together. I also did not have the capers or the special seasoning, so I left those ingredients out and didn't miss them a bit. Great recipe! Thanks. This is one of those dishes I crave from restaurants, so it's so nice to know I can make it at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sonnichsen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prosser, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wanted to find a recipe that tasted like Maryland dip you find in resturants. This one is right on! Very good!! I added more oldbay and crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Just made this again for the Memorial Day weekend. I've been making this for 10 years now, and it never fails to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Not one complaint. Sinfully delicious. Everyone loves it at parties. I leave out capers and artichokes. Might try low fat with everything next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Creamy, excellent, tasty, addictive, great flavor. I'm not sure what else to say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States