Best Guacamole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
It sounds like a good base. I will be adding in tomato and garlic. However, I am here mainly to say, no cilantro does not have to be added to make a good guac or salsa or whatever. There is a chemical in cilantro that causes it to taste exactly like soap to some people, so to me it would be exactly like shaving in a bar of Ivory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This is the basic recipe for starters but by far not all what guacamole can or should be. Cilantro, garlic, chopped green onion, tomato, and of course, chopped fresh hot pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
First of all, I like guacamole a little chunky, it looks far more attractive and the avocado is taster when it's not pureed, as the photo shows.. It needed fresh garlic, zero olive oil, chopped pickled (or fresh) jalapenos to taste, fresh ground pepper, a teaspoon of salt, red onion chopped and a quarter cup of coarsely chopped fresh cilantro and LIME juice, not lemon, also lotsa people add a chopped tomato, which is lovely but you can't save the guac in the fridge for long with tomato in it......I guess if you've never had good guacamole, you'd think that recipe was ...meh...but seriously....Another tip to keep the guacamole for turning color (if you have any left over) is to pack it into a glass container with a tight fitting lid but before putting the lid on it, place a piece of saran wrap directly on top of of the guacamole and press it into it lightly so no air will come in contact with it. Then put the lid on. Ole'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Love this, have made it as written when I just want to taste the avocado. Have also made it with tomato, garlic, cilantro, and lime juice. Its the best, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Good basic recipe. This recipe can be cut in half (1 Avocado) and it's enough for one family dinner. Add two cloves crushed garlic, the same amount of tomato as onion plus fresh cilantro leaves. Keep the seed in the container with any leftover guac and it will slow down the process of it turning brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
So easy and SO DELICIOUS!! I did snip a little fresh cilantro into it, but it was perfect and authentic without the cilantro...I just happened to have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Left out the oil, added cilantro and garlic. That work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Too blandWhere are the tomatoes, cilantro, jalapenos, etc. ? Great for people that like things that have very little flavor or spice, but definately not the best Guac!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I like this recipe for Guacamole. I like it because the taste of the avocado is not overpowered by other ingredients. I like to grate the onion in and do so to taste and also add the lemon juice to taste. I used a full lemon's worth of juice. I'm thinking it would be great with lime too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I never make guacamole any other way now. Hint: Add some minced garlic too. Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 433) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Guacamole

This guacamole will become your go-to recipe—it's easy and delicious.

How to Make Guacamole

Make fresh guacamole in less than 10 minutes—and get tips on peeling tomatoes.

Easy Guacamole

See how to make classic, quick-and-easy guacamole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States