Best Grilled Margarita Chicken... Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Wow, was this ever good! I followed the recipe exactly and let it marinate for over 8 hours. The flavors really came through and it browns nicely on the grill with the addition of honey in the marinade. Definitely something you'd be proud to serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2008
Excellent recipe! Instead of the individual margarita ingredients, i used a pre-mixed margarita (tequila and all) that i had in the fridge. I marinated for almost 24 hours, which REALLY allowed the taste to permeate the meat. When my husband took it off of the grill, i was initally disappointed because it looked like he had burned it but, to my pleasant surprise, it was the caramelization of the honey. The chicken got rave reviews and even tasted yummy the next day cold out of the fridge (great for a salad!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
My chicken marinated 6 hrs and I could barely pick up on a lime flavor. There are others on this site with fewer ingredients that have more flavor. I won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was AWESOME! I made it over two weeks ago and the boyfriend is still talking about how amazing it was. Says' that the flavor was never ending. I didn't have cilantro on hand so i didn't use any. I didn't use onion salt either. I also didn't have any honey so I used apricot preserves. i figured it would help glaze the chicken and I was right! I added some basil and chopped garlic to the marinade. I also threw in some orange and lime slices into the marinade and grilled them to garnish. The grilled fruit was even good! I served with a roasted balsalmic asparugus i found on the site. Make sure you let marinade for a full 24 hours, especially if the chicken breasts are large. I also only marinaded 2 chicken breasts, not 6. and I guessed on the measurments. I know that I used Half of a large container of Daily's Margarita Mix. Go Big or Go home but this recipe was FREAKIN' AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Tasted wonderful and so easy. The whole family loved it and then I told them what it was called. If your looking for great tasting chicken, this is it. It browned wonderful, looked like it came from a restaurant. (I assume it was because of the honey) Made it last week and am making it today. I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Very good, but it tasted a little too much like honey than margarita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookandBakeGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Imperial, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
I made this chicken for my husband as a welcome home dinner and it was fantastic! Due to jet lag it marinated for a day and a half but that certainly didn't hurt it. The chicken was so tender and flavorful and it will definately be a staple at my house from now on. Finally a use for tequilla in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
OMG good! I didn't change a thing. I marinated for 24 hours and I used a whole chicken cut up instead of breasts. I served with Carib Black Bean Soup recipe I found on this sight. What a great meal. The flavors complimented each other so well. My husband said he didn't want chicken any other way again...but we all know that can't be!!! I love new recipes and this is definitly one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I followed this recipe to a tee, and I was a little disappointed. It was just too bland for my family. With the wide array of ingredients, I was really expecting a huge pop of flavor, and it didn't deliver. I did think the flavor was much better the next day when I ate the chicken cold in a salad. Perhaps, I'll give it another try and let it marinate overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
My husband made this recipe tonight for dinner. It was great!! Because of bad weather, he browned it after marinating on the stove and then put in oven with thickened sauce over it. Put a little cheese, green onions and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States