Best Grilled Margarita Chicken... Ever! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This was very good!.. I didn't get to marinade it as long as suggested so the flavor was mild; next time I will marinade for longer... The chicken stayed very moist.. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was AWESOME! I made it over two weeks ago and the boyfriend is still talking about how amazing it was. Says' that the flavor was never ending. I didn't have cilantro on hand so i didn't use any. I didn't use onion salt either. I also didn't have any honey so I used apricot preserves. i figured it would help glaze the chicken and I was right! I added some basil and chopped garlic to the marinade. I also threw in some orange and lime slices into the marinade and grilled them to garnish. The grilled fruit was even good! I served with a roasted balsalmic asparugus i found on the site. Make sure you let marinade for a full 24 hours, especially if the chicken breasts are large. I also only marinaded 2 chicken breasts, not 6. and I guessed on the measurments. I know that I used Half of a large container of Daily's Margarita Mix. Go Big or Go home but this recipe was FREAKIN' AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I added chicken boullion granules to this recipe for a little more flavor and let it marinade overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I saw this recipe and the ingredients were something I had on hand beside it sounded like a really good recipe according to the other reviewers. I didn't have all the ingredients but I had most.I didn't use the extra tequila an triple sec. I had the pre-mixed Margarita Mix so I used that plus a little extra to make up the amounts of the two ing. I din't have. I also used the zest of a lime and orange extract for flavor (little splash) when I was done, the marinade didn't smell like too much and I was wondering if it would work. but, after marinading for 5 hrs. I grilled the chicken and the smells from the grill were awesome. I couldn't wait to try it. And I assume that the honey in the marinade was what made the chicken have that blackened look. I thought I had ruined the ckicken but it was so good and flavorful that my younger son just simply loved the taste. He couldn't stop eating the chicken even when his favorite side-dish was served with it. This is a wonderful marinade. I will definitely use it again and again. When a kid tells you that that's the best chicken they've ever tasted---then it's a definite keeper. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly except for using bone in chicken breast. I marinated it for about 3 hours. The chicken was so juicy but the marinade didn't really impart any flavor. For all the work involved I think you could leave out the tequila and triple sec and get the same results. Maybe increase the lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Very good and moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
OMG good! I didn't change a thing. I marinated for 24 hours and I used a whole chicken cut up instead of breasts. I served with Carib Black Bean Soup recipe I found on this sight. What a great meal. The flavors complimented each other so well. My husband said he didn't want chicken any other way again...but we all know that can't be!!! I love new recipes and this is definitly one of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
My family loved this chicken!! This is a very tasty marinade and the chicken was so moist. I will cut back a little on the lime juice next time though, was just a little too much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
The only changes I made, were nixin' the individual spices and replacing with Penzey's Chicken Taco Seasoning. Halved the olive oil, and only had three chicken breasts. Everything else remained the same. I couldn't even bring myself to finish my piece, and the kids wouldn't even TRY it. (Good thing I planned ahead and threw brats on the grill, too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States