Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
This is basically our standard green bean casserole recipe with some minor modifications I've made over the years. It's ALWAYS the first to disappear at potlucks when there are other versions of green bean casseroles and people often ask why it seems to taste so much better than the original one on the French's can. I always use French-cut green beans, add a (drained) can of sliced water chestnuts (coarsely chopped) and stir 3 ounces of the French fried onions into the casserole along with ALL of the cheddar cheese. Heating the ingredients in the microwave is really an unnecessary step. Bake in a flat casserole dish 30-35 minutes or until hot in the center. Then sprinkle the other 3 ounces of French fried onions over the top and bake 5 minutes more. We much prefer the cheese stirred INTO the casserole and NOT put on top. When doubling the recipe, using one can of water chestnuts works fine since a whole can is almost too much (but we like the crunch!) for a single recipe, depending on personal taste. If I'm trying to extend the number of servings for a double recipe then I generally use 2 cans of water chestnuts for that. A tried and true yummy favorite of many – thanks, Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alligator, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
DO NOT try to get away with frozen green beans in this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
This is sooooo darn good ! I am hooked and I will make this ALOT ! I like lots of crunch so I added more onions . This is a must try !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Green bean casseroles aren't my favorite vegetable casseroles to make, but as far as they go, this one is great! Instead of microwaving I put everything in the casserole (minus 1/2 c cheese and the fried onions) at 350 for 20 minutes, sprinkled on the rest of the cheese and the onions, then baked for about 7 minutes more. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Talk about kicking it up a notch! Jan, this was a perfect example of how small changes can make a BIG difference. This was so good, that my family asked me to make it AGAIN the day after Christmas! And the reviewer who questioned that this was a recipe? Any time you combine two or more ingredients, it's a recipe! And an awesome one this was.... thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
This is the third time I've made it; and we've gotten awesome reviews. The bowl is always cleaned out. I've preassembled this the night before and taken out an hour before to sit at room temperature and then cooked as described. Awesome and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
This recipe was easy and delicious! My only recommendation: add more cheese to the topping and less french fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was okay. Definitely needs some salt. I'll probably omit the cheese next time, or at the very least, not put any on top. It made the onions chewy instead of crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2002
My fiance wanted a green bean cassarole and I had no idea how to make one because I never had it before. I'm so glad this recipe worked out so well, and I enjoyed it too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I followed Memphisbelles advice and made with cannned french cut green beans, didn't microwave and mixed in the cheese and onions (didn't add the water chestnuts) but did add some real bacon bits. Double the recipe if you need a 13X9 size. They were licking the pan clean at the party I took it to...I love when I'm asked for the recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States