Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very Very good... even those who dont normally like green beans thought it was good... per other reviews i did add cheese into the mixture not just on top, and quite a bit since the family is cheese lovers. Next time i will just put all cheese inside and none on top only the onions, as what was on top got a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom of two k's

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Yummiest green bean casserole I've tried! I used frozen beans rather than canned. I added a little bit of minced onion and garlic powder and I mixed all the cheese into the beans. Since I made it the day before and cooked in on Thanksgiving, I just popped the whole thing in the oven with the other casseroles for about 30 minutes, rather than microwaving it. I'm eating the leftovers today and it's even better the next day, with some cold, crunchy FF onions on top. Thanks for a great recipe - our new family recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenMomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Nobody really liked this recipe. We won't buy this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I love this recipe! Some of the reviews say it needs more flavor but I think most people who cook often know to add salt, pepper and/or garlic ect. to your own liking. Most green bean casserole recipes are very similar to this but I'd never thought of adding cheese. I used conds. cream of mushroom and chicken, added my own garlic, salt and pepper and it comes out great. I also mix cheese into the casserole as well as on top.I made it this year and last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Just a quick note: if you don't like fried onions (which I don't) try topping this with crushed cheese crackers (like Cheese Nips). It complements the taste (starchy and salty) and it's a lower calorie substitute for fried onions. Otherwise this recipe really impressed me. Not only was is easy to make, incredibly creamy, and took no time at all, it was delicious. I brought this to a bunch of college boys who I figured probably wouldn't even glance at it (since it's neither turkey nor stuffing) and they scraped the casserole dish clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMF443

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
I chose to do this recipe following MemphisBelle's suggestions: add all of the cheese (grated a little extra for the top since I'm a serious cheese lover), added water chestnuts, added 1/2 of the onions to bean mix, omitted microwave step and just baked longer. I was not disappointed. Even the folks who "don't eat onions" ate it and liked it! I'm keeping it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Awesome! I made a few minor modifications based on personal preference. I used 98% fat free cream of mushroom soup, and added some sauteed onions. It was great and I'll definitely be making this again. Hubby said it was the best he has ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
eh. i felt like it didnt have that much flavor. i followed the recipe exactly. the best part was the fried onions for sure. otherwise, it was kinda bland and boring. people did eat it all up at the potluck i brought it to, so i cant be too upset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JING_19

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This was very good for a change! I think the cheese is a great addition to a good casserole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim1430

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is a great recipe, and so easy! I served it for a family dinner, and it will definitely be on the table again at the holidays. I found it unnecessary to microwave the ingredients first. And, I used at least 2 cups of cheese-- the more cheese the better in my book. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States