Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Pretty good but I used fresh green beans. I boiled the beans for just a couple of minutes and then mixed the soup with the beans in the casserole dish. i mixed bread crumbs with cheddar cheese in a bowl and then sprinkled it on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I followed Memphisbelles advice and made with cannned french cut green beans, didn't microwave and mixed in the cheese and onions (didn't add the water chestnuts) but did add some real bacon bits. Double the recipe if you need a 13X9 size. They were licking the pan clean at the party I took it to...I love when I'm asked for the recipe...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is a good basic recipe. Like other reviewers, I add 1 cup of shredded cheese to the mixture, a 1/2 can of chopped water chestnuts, about a tablespoon of soy sauce, and half of the FF onions to the mix. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love green bean casserole, but I never thought of putting cheese in it before. Why, I don't know because cheese makes everything better! :) I mixed all of my cheese and half of the onions into the green bean mixture. I didn't bother with warming it in the microwave. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added a can of water chestnuts (something else I never would have thought to do, but was such a yummy addition, I will do it that way from now on!), sprinkled it with a little salt. Baked it for about 35 minutes, then topped it with the rest of the onions, and broiled it for 5 minutes. This was very good, and got a lot of compliments, including from my mother who typically does not like green bean casserole, but she LOVED this! I can see this with the additions of mushrooms, or bacon crumbles, maybe just a little splash of soy sauce. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very good comfort food dish. I add 5 strips of bacon, crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is pretty much the standard recipe with cheese added to it, but that one addition does make a difference! I made this last Thanksgiving and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgatzke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I absolutely love this casserole. I make it quite often when we are having company & it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Eoff

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
YUMMO!!! I mixed some of the onions and all the cheese in the beans...than topped with more onions about 5 minutes before I toook it out. I used more onions than called for in the recipe and I also added a little garlic powder. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Everytime I make this, it gets rave reviews!!!! So much better than the recipe on the onion can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
All of my family loved this one! I only used cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States