Best Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is a good basic recipe. Like other reviewers, I add 1 cup of shredded cheese to the mixture, a 1/2 can of chopped water chestnuts, about a tablespoon of soy sauce, and half of the FF onions to the mix. EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I love green bean casserole, but I never thought of putting cheese in it before. Why, I don't know because cheese makes everything better! :) I mixed all of my cheese and half of the onions into the green bean mixture. I didn't bother with warming it in the microwave. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added a can of water chestnuts (something else I never would have thought to do, but was such a yummy addition, I will do it that way from now on!), sprinkled it with a little salt. Baked it for about 35 minutes, then topped it with the rest of the onions, and broiled it for 5 minutes. This was very good, and got a lot of compliments, including from my mother who typically does not like green bean casserole, but she LOVED this! I can see this with the additions of mushrooms, or bacon crumbles, maybe just a little splash of soy sauce. Mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Very good comfort food dish. I add 5 strips of bacon, crumbled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is pretty much the standard recipe with cheese added to it, but that one addition does make a difference! I made this last Thanksgiving and it was superb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgatzke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I absolutely love this casserole. I make it quite often when we are having company & it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Eoff

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
YUMMO!!! I mixed some of the onions and all the cheese in the beans...than topped with more onions about 5 minutes before I toook it out. I used more onions than called for in the recipe and I also added a little garlic powder. Thanks for the recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Everytime I make this, it gets rave reviews!!!! So much better than the recipe on the onion can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
All of my family loved this one! I only used cream of celery soup instead of cream of mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catie C.
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is a very easy recipe. I use fresh green beans and blanch them first. I also use parmesan in addition to the chedder to give it more color. I havent tried it with the french fried onion yet because I can never seem to find that at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Pablo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
An easy classic. I used cream of celery soup for a bit of added flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Toovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnedosa, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 91-100 (of 240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States