Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
The best Fried Green Tomatoes I've ever had! We were fighting over the last one! Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
I recently had for the first time the fried green tomatoes in Atlanta. As soon as I got home, I began the search for the recipe. This one was easy to make and delicious and it's the one I'm passing on to all my friends to try, as it's not usual to have fried tomatoes here! Great option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Fried Green Tomatoes have long been a family favorite. But these are incredible. We have never tasted anything soooo goooood!! We made the sauce the one lady recommended and I just can't say enough about them. This recipe will be handed down for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
I had never tried fried green tomatoes before but had always wanted to. Well, I don't need to look any further for a recipe. This one is fantastic. I even tried it with some of my fresh zucchini and loved it. I didn't have any corn meal so I had to substitute Jiffy corn muffin mix but it worked great. Will definitely make these again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2000
Very tasty. A little messy, but that's half the fun. Great on a warm summer night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I too, made the tip that was listed and these tomatoes were soooo delicious!!!! I also used "italian" bread crumbs and that seemed to give it a little kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
I love fried green tomatoes. I always make a mess, but it's worth it. I've found that bacon fat is the best frying agent (although not animal-friendly or heart friendly), it gives the best flavor. Also, I tried crushing up club crackers instead of bread crumbs and added them to the cornmeal and I added a dab of butter to the bacon fat. Yum!!! Also, I like to use green tomatoes that have a little red on them. I can't wait for summer to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eyota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
A little bit of work but worth it !! The same batter work well with zucchini !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
After renting the movie 'Fried Green Tomatoes,' I just had to find the recipie. I was not disappointed - these were yummy! They go best with a Southern accent and a slice of lemon pie for dessert. :) Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Made this for my husbands birthday in April. He is from the South we live on the West Coast and he thought they were great. I served them with a dip made out of dijon mustard, a bit of mayonaise, some horseraddish and a dash of red wine vinnegar. The were even good cold as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 449) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States