Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
These were really good. A keeper recipes. I cut the recipe for two and perhaps my tomatoes were a little large and ran out of the drye batter ingredients. I liked the slight tucker cut than I used previously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Previous attempts to fry green tomatoes did not go as well as I hoped, so I went looking for a recipe. This one fits the bill! Only change I made was to cut the tomatoes in 1/4 inch thick slices. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VELMA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Loves the way my tomatoes came out so I decided to try pork chops using the same recipe! Wow came out delicious. I didn't have cornbread mix so I just omitted it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Very tasty recipe but I modified from the start based on many of the reviews. I subbed buttermilk for milk; Panko for breadcrumbs; peanut oil for vegetable oil and used it sparingly; added some garlic and herbs to the breadcrumb batter for a bit for kick but other than that followed the recipe but I did find it took more crumbs because I had more tomatoes although I had plenty of egg and milk. I cut the tomatoes roughly about a 1/4". I did a few at 1/2" and they were fine also but they did take a bit longer to cook. I ran out of the bread crumb recipe early on and had way too much egg left over- that was fine because I made more tomatoes than the recipe called for so I ended up using all the egg by doubling the bread crumb mixture and adding an additional 1/4 cup flour. I subbed Panko for bread crumbs because in my experience breadcrumbs tend to be more soggy and absorb oil and I wanted these fried tomatoes to be as crispy as possible. I don't use bread crumbs for frying anything. Several comments mentioned the batter being bland so I added some powdered garlic and Italian herbs. Not much to this, just dunk in flour, egg mixture, bread crumbs and fry. Yummy! They were great served with homemade chili! I really enjoyed making these. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Awesome just as the recipe reads. Make the Southern Pemento Cheese to go with them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelli stein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by npbm
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I cooked this recipe on yesterday and everyone loved them . Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by npbm
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Excellent. To actually double the flavor - after you dredge and before frying....sprinkle Lemon Pepper on both sides. This does actually double the flavor. It is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
first time making these. Had some green tomatoes from my mother in law's garden. Absolutely sublime. Delicious. Wonderful crunch, sweet flavor inside. Nothing like it. i would suggest slicing them a bit thinner. I added old bay seasoning to the flour and i found the flavor complimenting the tomatoes. Used panko bread crumbs and crushed them up with the corn meal. I saw in one of the reviews a suggestion of self rising flour. I'll look into that someday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I've made these fried green tomatoes 3 times after recently finding this recipe. My family goes nuts for them! This is the best recipe for fried green tomatoes bar none. I made a sauce to go with them out of Herdez salsa, Veganaise and Texas Pete hot sauce. Delicious! The only variance that I made to the recipe is to cut the tomato a quarter inch thick instead of the recommended 1/2 inch and also added extra pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I had to join allrecipes after I made this dish so I could review it because I loved it so much! Don't be skeptical about this one; it's worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States