Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Thanks to all of your comments I took some learning from each of you. I went with 1/4 inch thick slices, (will go a tad thinner next time). Sliced, salted & let rest an hour before serving. Used equal parts corn meal, flour, seasoned bread crumbs, and some salt & pepper. I used seasoned flour, egg white & milk, then the corn meal, flour, bread crumb blend. 3 minutes a side was perfect, and they turned out great and the coating held perfectly. The only thing that was missing was some flavor. The tomatoes were sweet (I was concerned about bitterness) but still a little bland, so I made a sauce of horseradish & mayonnaise, and that hit the spot. This was a good base recipe, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
These were fabulous! The 10- 12 people at the family dinner I made them for loved them and they were gone in 15 minutes! This includes the 24month old birthday girl and a 6year old !! I follow many of the tips other reviewers offered: S&P added to the flour, whipped egg whites,some cayenne and seasoned salt to the cornmeal/panko coating. I also salted the sliced tomatoes and let them sit for about 30 minutes. I fried two large tomatoes and 4-5 small tomatoes; we all liked the small chip like tomatoes best! I also made the suggested dip with thousand island dressing. The tip for testing the temp of the oil with the wooden spoon, worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cecilia
Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
These are the best! I have been making them almost every day as everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I have been looking for a great recipe for fried green tomatoes this is it. I used Italian seasoned bread crumbs instead of plain...wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rmathew1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Very good this way. We usually like them just dredged in flour and fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wizardofohms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Excellent,ran out of corn meal,and bread crumbs so shake and bake worked just as great,added blk pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Made this just as written, but halved the ingredients for just the two of us. Delicious, but we wanted a sauce to dip them in. Ranch dressing did the trick for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Taber Tombrella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Made this yesterday for the first time ever and the recipe is very good. Thanks for the tip about using egg whites! The coating browns up nice and crispy. Varied it slightly by adding some brown sugar crumble to the final dredging - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I have never had Fried Green Tomatoes, but I have heard about them so much that I really wanted to try them. These taste great! I did add some cayenne and I really liked that; gave it a bit of a bite. I especially appreciated one hint of the wooden spoon in the oil to see if it's at the right temp. (if you do that and bubbles come off the spoon, it's ready.) Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
First time ever trying fried green tomatoes and will make again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States