Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My first time making this recipe, I followed it to the letter and the tomatoes were quite good. The second time, I made the following additions/changes and the results were excellent: I used panko bread crumbs; seasoned all breading components (flour, egg mixture and coating) with salt, pepper and a pinch of seasoning blend (I used my own, similar to Emeril's "BAM"); and I shallow-fried in 1 1/2 cups of vegetable oil instead of deep frying. I served the crispy tomatoes with a spicy buttermilk ranch dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Had friends over for dinner. They said these were as good, if not better, than what they've had a restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just finished making these, they are DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe to a T, and they came out fantastic! I will definitely be using this recipe again! Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made these, but left out the flour, because it seemed like a lot of coating for the amount of tomatoes. I also added some garlic powder and cayenne. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
My first review ever and I use allrecipes quite a bit! Fantastic got some fresh green tomatoes at local farmers market and cooked them the same day. My only change was to use some smoked bacon drippings together with the vegetable oil. Oh so yummy and to top with remoulade that I made as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Awesome, thanks for sharing. Easy peasy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Delicious! followed the recipe as written and loved it! I usually make Fried Green Tomatoes at the end of summer when my plants are over run with tomatoes, but will begin earlier next year just for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy L. Feehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Yum! I added some mustard to the egg mixture and some garlic powder to the cornmeal mixture to amp up the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Thanks to all of your comments I took some learning from each of you. I went with 1/4 inch thick slices, (will go a tad thinner next time). Sliced, salted & let rest an hour before serving. Used equal parts corn meal, flour, seasoned bread crumbs, and some salt & pepper. I used seasoned flour, egg white & milk, then the corn meal, flour, bread crumb blend. 3 minutes a side was perfect, and they turned out great and the coating held perfectly. The only thing that was missing was some flavor. The tomatoes were sweet (I was concerned about bitterness) but still a little bland, so I made a sauce of horseradish & mayonnaise, and that hit the spot. This was a good base recipe, thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCHEISS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mayfield Heights, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wickliffe, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States