Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cynthia
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2015
Wonderful recipe! Made these last night. Such an easy process and they turned out amazing! My mother loves fried green tomatoes and these were her favorite! Made it exactly as the recipe stated, did not alter the ingredients at all. Not soggy one bit, nice and crunchy, I will be making them again with this wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hoopeston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
Love this recipe, the cornmeal makes it so crunchy. A added parm cheese into the mix it gave it a nice salty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jezail June
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2015
I made this today and my husband loved them! My neighbor gave use 3 beautiful, large green tomatoes so I sliced just one of them (only my husband eats them) and split the ingredients in half except the milk and egg mixture. Very easy to do and they turned out beautifully. I will definitely try this recipe again before the end of the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Houston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2015
This was so fantastic! I followed the recipe almost to a T with the exception of some tiny suggestions from reviews: omitted the egg yolks (crispier batter), only used 1 and 1/2 tsp of kosher salt, and used 1/2 cup of flour (1 full cup would have been wasteful overkill). I also used Italian style bread crumbs for more enhanced flavor. These were SO delicious and the batter stayed completely in place. I've made fried green tomatoes for years and this is the first time I've ever been successful at not having the batter fall off while they cook. My husband made a simple dip for them too using sour cream, dill weed, dill relish, lemon juice, grated cucumber, and salt and pepper. Seriously the best batch of fried green tomatoes I've ever made! This is a definite keeper for my family (who as tradition makes a batch of these every summer and watches the movie while we eat them). Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2015
Made these last night and LOVED them. I had never had fried green tomatoes before, but everybody but my youngest child loved them. I used seasoned bread crumbs and they addded a nice flavor. I served them with spaghetti. The kids ate all the spaghetti, so I had my tomatoes with sauce over them...I will make these again foresure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2015
My family loved these. We had them with a homemade French dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
So, this was my first time cooking fried green tomatoes, and it was quite good! I did add 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/2 tsp paprika to the cornmeal with the salt. I tried slicing them 1/2" thick and 1/4" thick, my husband and I much preferred the thicker tomatoes; the thinner tomatoes got soggy quickly. I did also use this breading recipe on bias-cut 1/4" thick zucchini slices, and it was SO good! Try putting them on a nice, crusty loaf of bread with a little lettuce and cucumber and your favorite salad dressing for a great sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2015
Pretty bland and the corn meal was to much dry crunch so after trying the first few I remade the flour mix without the corn meal and added 2 tablespoons of garlic salt and 2 tablespoons of Cajun spice to spice it up and give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Johnson
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2015
I *just* made these and I they were great! I had jumbo eggs so I took out one yolk in order to avoid a weird texture. I used crushed corn flakes for the bread crumbs and I used corn bread mix instead of corn meal because it's all we had. It worked perfectly although I ended up having to make more bread crumb/corn meal mixture because I ran out about 3/4 of the way through. It was probably because I used too much on each slice. I used melted Crisco shortening for the oil. But they were great! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Johnson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2015
I tried this recipe several days ago. The tomatoes were wonderful! The only things I changed were using Panko crumbs, peanut oil, and slicing the tomatoes one quarter of an inch thick. Will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 480) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States