Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
These were the BEST fried green tomatoes I've ever had in my entire life. I followed the directions EXACTLY and they couldn't have been any better. The batter stuck perfectly, and held up really well. This was my first time making these myself, and I had NO problem whatsoever - in fact, I had NEVER even friend anything before and I STILL had no problems. For all you "first time fryers" my sister gave me this tip: to tell when the oil is hot enough, dip a wooden spoon into the oil and look to see if bubbles form around it. If bubbles form, your oil is ready to fry in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Loved these tomatoes! Used only egg whites to ensure they came out super crispy and crunchy. Egg yolks can make fried foods a little greasy and sometimes soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
960 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: Kokomo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
The directions to cut the tomatoes so thick is definitely wrong in my opinion. I find they will not get done or tender when cut so thick! I've been cooking for 54 plus years, but am still willing to learn. I now cut mine very thin (about 1/8th inch), salt and pepper them and simply flour them in SELF-RISING FLOUR and fry them in very hot Peanut oil -- A few at the time and very quickly. They are great and CRISPY!!! Drain them on several UNCOATED (cheap) paper plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
718 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Having lived in North Carolina for the last 16 years, I've had these tomatoes in various southern restaurants. This recipe was great in flavor, but I wasn't crazy about the texture. After the first batch, I made some changes and found them to be exactly what I was looking for. The flour made the breading too soft. I reduced the flour by 1/2 cup, which made equal parts flour, cornmeal, and breadcrumbs. This gave the tomatoes the crispness that they needed. Again, the flavor was great! I received many compliments and will continue to use this recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYPHAT55

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
These were delicious - I had a recipe that didn't call for breadcrumbs and there were quite a bit of seasonings but I can't find it. Until I do I will surely be using this one. Here's a no fuss no muss tip that I use whenever I am breading things - I just simply pull out a long sheet of wax paper and put it on the counter next to the stove - line up the flour, next the cornmeal and breadcrumbs (you can mix it with your hands on the paper), put the breaded tomatoes on the end. Roll up the wax paper when you are finished - the only plate you have is the egg mixture!!!! I love wax paper to cut down the mess. Thanks for sharing the recipe Diana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I was having a tough time with the ingredients sticking to the tomato. I tried again using only egg, breadcrumbs, salt and pepper and when cooked the tomatoes was fully coated and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2002
Made this for my husbands birthday in April. He is from the South we live on the West Coast and he thought they were great. I served them with a dip made out of dijon mustard, a bit of mayonaise, some horseraddish and a dash of red wine vinnegar. The were even good cold as leftovers the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
We loved them! I used egg & fat-free buttermilk to dip and added cayenne to my corn meal mixture. When I turned them over to cook on the second side, I added fresh Parmesan cheese to the cooked side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaOutNAbout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2002
Fried Green Tomatoes have long been a family favorite. But these are incredible. We have never tasted anything soooo goooood!! We made the sauce the one lady recommended and I just can't say enough about them. This recipe will be handed down for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
I too, made the tip that was listed and these tomatoes were soooo delicious!!!! I also used "italian" bread crumbs and that seemed to give it a little kick!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States