Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I love to cook and making things easy. After looking at every comment I went this route. Tomatoes have to be super green. No tinge of pink. I only fried one tomatoe and cut it 1/4 inch thick. I omitted egg because batter doesnt stick as well with egg and milk. On a wax sheet of paper pour 1/3 cup of cornmeal, flour, seasoned breadcrumbs. A dash of garlic powder, seasoned salt, and mix together. soak tomatoe in milk, PRESS into the mix and really squish it there. PEANUT OIL a must. Heat on high and when its ready carefully lay the tomatoes in there. dont move them around. when it gets a nice brown color then carefully turn over. cook and then transfer to paper towel. I made a dip suggested on here of mayo,mustard,vinegar, but I added spicy ketchup. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendyliz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef love
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Great!! Used jiffy corn bread mix because we had no cornmeal. Turned out great!! Try it with a side of horseradish ranch or regular ranch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Very good and easy to follow recipe! Although green tomatoes hold a lot of water, the second time I made them I let them sit out for awhile to let some water drain off...it was better a the second time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soshy So
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Tried this recipe. It's easy and awesome. I have lots of tomato plants & its abundant with green tomatoes! Perfect for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Perfectly delicious! I added a few shakes of garlic powder and paprika to the flour along with the salt and pepper. I also added parmasan cheese to my bread crumbs. Plus, I make sure to salt them a little bit right after I take them out the frying pan. These were "stupid" good!! Just as fabulous, if not even more so, then any I've had in a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Modica

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Yum! Served with a remoulade. Even my 2yo gobbled this up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I prefer my tomatoes to be a bit on the pink toward red before frying. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jenfondren
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My family loved the recipe. The only adjustment I made was I used mushroom batter instead of cornmeal because I was out of cornmeal. I also doubled the recipe for my large family. They all loved it. I will definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenfondren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Warrior, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is excellent! I have never had fried green tomatoes before, but had an abundance of them in the garden this year, so looked here for a recipe, and found this. Here are some minor modifications I made the second time, which solved that problem: I sliced the tomatoes and laid them on paper towels on a platter. I salted them lightly. Before frying them, I dried the tops with another paper towel. I reduced the amount of milk mixed with the eggs to about 3 tablespoons. Because we like spicy food, I added a teaspoon of cayenne to the cornmeal mix, and when the tomatoes were served, I topped each slice with a spoonful of red salsa. This recipe is a 5 star as printed; I am just adding my changes if someone is looking for a slightly different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Love the breading! I think 1/2" slices are too thick, though. I cut mine about 1/4 to 3/8 " and they seem to get done as the outside got brown. I do double dip the slices in the milk and breading and that helps it to stick. The tomatoes keep coming this fall so we will make this often. I will try using buttermilk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 465) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States