Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Hard to get the mix to stick to the tomatoes, but even with the crumbling, fried outer shell, it still tasted terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had never tried these before and they are really good. I did however add a little parm cheese to the cornmeal mixture. I also followed another posts recipe for a dipping sauce of sour cream ranch dressing and hot sauce. I would make these again but I think I would like to try a sweeter dipping sauce like a mango chutney or something like that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNINMA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My first time making this recipe, I followed it to the letter and the tomatoes were quite good. The second time, I made the following additions/changes and the results were excellent: I used panko bread crumbs; seasoned all breading components (flour, egg mixture and coating) with salt, pepper and a pinch of seasoning blend (I used my own, similar to Emeril's "BAM"); and I shallow-fried in 1 1/2 cups of vegetable oil instead of deep frying. I served the crispy tomatoes with a spicy buttermilk ranch dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNINMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Leicester, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Had friends over for dinner. They said these were as good, if not better, than what they've had a restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I just finished making these, they are DELICIOUS! I followed the recipe to a T, and they came out fantastic! I will definitely be using this recipe again! Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GypsyCurls

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I made these, but left out the flour, because it seemed like a lot of coating for the amount of tomatoes. I also added some garlic powder and cayenne. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
My first review ever and I use allrecipes quite a bit! Fantastic got some fresh green tomatoes at local farmers market and cooked them the same day. My only change was to use some smoked bacon drippings together with the vegetable oil. Oh so yummy and to top with remoulade that I made as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Awesome, thanks for sharing. Easy peasy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Delicious! followed the recipe as written and loved it! I usually make Fried Green Tomatoes at the end of summer when my plants are over run with tomatoes, but will begin earlier next year just for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy L. Feehan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States