Best Fried Green Tomatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2015
First time I ever made them and the first time my husband ever had them. Followed the directions exactly. Winner! Super easy and very good. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Cibolo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi Stout Dalton
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
Made amazing Fried Green Tomato BLTAs using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Would like a good recipe for a sauce for these. Any ideas? Thousand Island? Horseradish?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
There is such a small window for green tomatoes in the area where I live, this recipe makes the best of limited time item. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Those aren't green tomatoes in the video, the recipe appears to be for tomatillas which are more close to gooseberries than tomatoes. As someone pointed out they are cut too thick for actual green tomatoes. The recipe is very basic. Not even buttermilk instead of milk, no real spices, no justification for kosher salt. -Wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mad thumbs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made these for supper last night and they were really good. Now keep in mind that I have never had them but my husband was born and raised in Texas and knew them well as a child. He said "You nailed it Baby!" I only gave 4 stars because I did adjust the recipe after reading many reviews, for our taste and health and for the amount we were making as well. I used 1/2 the flour called for, used egg whites instead of whole eggs, used crushed croutons instead of bread crumbs or panko, and added cajun seasoning to the cornmeal mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
The milk egg mix is way to thin for the recipe and that messes up everything. Added an extra egg and that helped but I would have cut milk down to maybe an 1/8 cup. The coating is pure personal preference, so If you like corn meal you'll like this and if not, not so much. I'd have just gone with bread crumbs alone or a flour/corn meal mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Kuhn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
These were delicious. I made them for a group and got rave reviews. It was too much flour and not enough cornmeal mixture for me. Too much egg/milk too, but you need to be able to submerge them I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I will def try these again but hopefully I won't make as big of a mess making them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
Delish! Best I have ever had. I am so thankful for this recipe. Follow it exactly and you will be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 466) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

How to Make Fried Green Tomatoes

Watch Chef John make a Southern classic.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States