Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I thought this was pretty delicious. I used a dry sauvignon blanc and the only real 'adjustment' I made was to rub garlic on the fondue pot and cook it in the cheeses. It came out great, and was my first time making a 'from scratch' fondue. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've made this recipe two or three times and really enjoy it. This time, I had a hard time finding the Ementaler cheese, so I ended up using Jarlsburg instead and it worked. I followed another review's advice about adding some lemon juice to help break up the cheese, because I didn't have any Cabernet Sauvignon (only Chardonnay). We used two kinds of bread, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower and celery for dipping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I sort of made this for my son's first birthday party. I only used two types of cheese and I added some garlic powder, mustard powder, and nutmeg. It was so good even though I didn't follow exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this fondue for a birthday dinner party and followed the recipe to a T, using a nice Reisling for the wine. It was wonderful! It received rave reviews, and even the 2-year-old loved it. I highly recommend this recipe, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was my first time making fondue but my husband and I enjoyed it very much and this is an excellent recipe. We did as suggested and grated the cheese and it went very smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Easterling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I couldn't find Emmentaler, so used Gruyere, Jarlsberg and white cheddar, and I used Pinot Grigio (since that's what I had). I took a lot of reviewer suggestions: added a little lemon juice, added butter to pan to warm up with wine (probably didn't need the butter), and sprinkled flour throughout the cheese. I served this at a party with crusty bread, granny smith apple, cherry tomatoes, cauliflower, blanched broccoli, and meatballs. It was SCRUMPTIOUS!!! My friends have already requested we do it again next month at our next gathering - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
These three cheese make a great fondue- here are my suggestions to make this a success: 1. I used Sauvignon Blanc with a little lemon juice added (1 tsp). It helps the cheese not to be like glue. 2. Rub a garlic clove on the inside of the pot (either the one you're cooking with or the fondue pot). Discard clove. 3. If you don't want to make a roux (it turned out fine when I didn't) shred the cheese, place it in a plastic bag, and shake it all up with 2 tbsp of flour. Omit the butter. Add the flour-covered cheese about a half-cup at a time to the simmering wine-lemon juice combo, letting each batch melt before adding more. Stir in a figure eight pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Made fondue for a wine pairing party. Success! Everyone loved it. My fondue pot sucked, it would be to hot or to cold. We added some more warm Chardonnay which helped out a bit. Cheeses worked well together. Easy recipes Easy prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
YUMMY! My friend made this for our Bunco group and it was a big hit. I can't wait to have it again! I am so glad she forwarded the recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I found this recipe to be excellent. This was the second fondue I have ever attempted and it turned out great. I followed the suggestions here: shredded cheese, no butter, cornmeal, mixing the cornmeal with the cheese. It turned out excellent. I had problem with stringiness but only when the cheese got cold, as long as it was warm it was very easy to dip and eat. I reheated it twice with out problem. ON the second reheat it did get oily but with a little more heating and stirring fixed that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States