Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Great!! But only if you follow the reviews here (thus the 4 stars instead of 5). I mixed the SHREDDED cheese with about 2 tablespoons of flour. Omitted butter. Brought an acidic white wine to a SIMMER. Then put the wine in the fondue pot and slowly stired the cheese/flour mixture in. I added a tablespoon of lemon juice to make sure it was smooth but I doubt I needed it. Family on Christmas LOVED it and we basically licked the pot clean. Served with bread cubes, raw vegetables, apples, and roasted potatoes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Forgot to add the cheddar, but my family didn't notice until we'd eaten the entire pot. Wonderful, but don't skimp and buy cheap cheese. I also just simmered, rather than boiling the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Probably will add roasted garlic next time but the mixture of cheese flavors was excellent. Warm the wine first in a pot so the fondue is ready to mix when guests arrive. (It takes a little while to heat up over the fondue pot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Used S. Blanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I thought this meal was great! Me and a friend made it and it was very good. I would recommend using a little lemon juice to make it less stringy and clumpy and use broccoli and french bread to dip. But it was still great and I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This was sooo good! Only changes for us were bringing wine to simmer (NOT BOIL), shredding cheeses vs. cubes & coating cheese w/ flour instead of in pot, melts more evenly w/ changes...but the ingredients themselves were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I thought this was pretty delicious. I used a dry sauvignon blanc and the only real 'adjustment' I made was to rub garlic on the fondue pot and cook it in the cheeses. It came out great, and was my first time making a 'from scratch' fondue. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've made this recipe two or three times and really enjoy it. This time, I had a hard time finding the Ementaler cheese, so I ended up using Jarlsburg instead and it worked. I followed another review's advice about adding some lemon juice to help break up the cheese, because I didn't have any Cabernet Sauvignon (only Chardonnay). We used two kinds of bread, carrots, broccoli, cauliflower and celery for dipping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I sort of made this for my son's first birthday party. I only used two types of cheese and I added some garlic powder, mustard powder, and nutmeg. It was so good even though I didn't follow exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k861084

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
I made this fondue for a birthday dinner party and followed the recipe to a T, using a nice Reisling for the wine. It was wonderful! It received rave reviews, and even the 2-year-old loved it. I highly recommend this recipe, and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States