Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
We had this for New Year's Eve. Wow! It was so good. We all decided on the spot that this fondue would be our new NYEve tradition. We did make some adjustments based on other reviews, namely we shredded the cheese and tossed the flour in it - and btw I was not super strict on the exact 7oz of each - I think I had about 8oz of each and just used it all. Eliminated the butter. We use 1 cup of Reisling and 2 tsp of christopher ranch crushed garlic. OMG to die for yummy. We also borrowed a friend's electric fondue pot - wow was it awesome - heats up in about 10 sec and you have totally melted fondue in about 3 minutes. Favorite dipping tidbits: parboiled broccoli, bread, cooked italian sausage, grape tomatoes, parboiled carrots and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This recipe was excellent! Tried it out for the first time on New Year's Eve...usually don't do first time recipes when we have guests. Had a ready-made fondue from the grocers as back-up just in case. This was simple though. Heated, didn't boil Robt. Mondavi Sauvingnon Blanc (sp?) and then added that to the roux and then the cheeses. Excellent...served it with cut and heated whole grain bread. Simple and delish! Thanks ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
This was a delicious blend of cheeses. I used a smoked sharp cheddar which was an excellent choice. It doesn't get 5 stars because it wasn't as creamy or coating the food as well as we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeckyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I make this fondue at least once a year and have for the last 3 or 4. I decided I should rate it. I make it exactly as is, but rub a garlic clove on the inside of the fondue pot, and it is always creamy and amazing. If you don't like it, you must be dead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DacDacDylacPac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I shredded all of my cheeses to allow for the simplest melting. You can't put cheddar cheese in this fondue with great swiss-style cheeses and expect it to turn out well. The cheddar acts as it does with all dishes and becomes stringy. The cheese won't stick to your food the way a good fondue should. I took out the cheddar on my second try of this recipe. I used 12 oz. of the Gruyere and of the Emmentaler (Jarlsburg can also be substituted for either of these 2 cheeses and is one of my personal favorites). It came out great the next time. Just don't use the cheddar. It won't turn out like a good fondue should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Great!! But only if you follow the reviews here (thus the 4 stars instead of 5). I mixed the SHREDDED cheese with about 2 tablespoons of flour. Omitted butter. Brought an acidic white wine to a SIMMER. Then put the wine in the fondue pot and slowly stired the cheese/flour mixture in. I added a tablespoon of lemon juice to make sure it was smooth but I doubt I needed it. Family on Christmas LOVED it and we basically licked the pot clean. Served with bread cubes, raw vegetables, apples, and roasted potatoes. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Forgot to add the cheddar, but my family didn't notice until we'd eaten the entire pot. Wonderful, but don't skimp and buy cheap cheese. I also just simmered, rather than boiling the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Probably will add roasted garlic next time but the mixture of cheese flavors was excellent. Warm the wine first in a pot so the fondue is ready to mix when guests arrive. (It takes a little while to heat up over the fondue pot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Used S. Blanc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I thought this meal was great! Me and a friend made it and it was very good. I would recommend using a little lemon juice to make it less stringy and clumpy and use broccoli and french bread to dip. But it was still great and I will be making it again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States