Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Great recipe...the only one I found with all three cheeses in it. I changed it just slightly...instead of making the roux (butter and flour) I just tossed the cheeses with 2 Tbsp. cornstarch before I added it to the wine. I also stirred in about 1 Tbsp lemon juice and some dry mustard...just to add a little kick! Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was wonderful!! I followed the recipe exactly except - I did add a little bit of lemom juice like the other readers suggested, I think it definately helped to keep cheese from seperating, it came out beautifully! Very rich and I even heated it up the next day and was still yummy! I had it with apple slices (granny smith) and bread, will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This fondue was great! Better than any kind I have had at the Melting Pot. I took the advice of previous raters and added the flour in with the cheese instead of with the wine and used lemon juice (and heat) when it got too thick. I do also recommend using Savignon Blanc for the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DakotaSMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was worse than mozzarella cheese. It was so stringy we had to pull it apart with our fingers. I even tried doing the lemon juice trick and we still had to wrestle with it to get it out of the pot. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
this cheese fondue was wonderful, i made it for a group of 10 people and served with it a variety of breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made this for my husband and he loved it! I do have a few suggestions - First, DO use a Sauvignon Blanc for the wine. Second, SHRED the cheeses and toss the tablespoon (or so) of flour in with the shredded cheeses instead of cooking with the wine. Using a double boiler or Fondue pot typically used for chocolate will also help keep this from clumping and/or burning. Last, I omitted the butter and rubbed the pot with a garlic clove before simmering the wine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
926 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe was a big hit with my family. It was delicious with apples and french bread. Grating the cheese did help to make it melt faster, and a few drops of lemon juice took care of the clumping problem. We had to fight over the last drops at the bottom of the fondue pot! Next time I will make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I really liked this fondue. It's smoother than a cheddar-only fondue and is not quite as strong as an emmentaler/gruyere fondue. I followed the suggestions in Qwertycake's review (dated 2/18/04) and it came out great. It didn't turn lumpy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was awesome. I halved the recipe and used beer instead of milk as everyone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILESVT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was the worst cooking disaster I have ever experienced. I made $50 worth of cheese, for several people, and the whole thing turned into a giant cheese ball. I can't believe anyone would recommend this recipe. I make fondue quite often and I have never ended up with something unuseable and unsaucy. This is poor at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States