Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This would have been great if it hadn't been so buttery. I follwed the directions to a T but the butter just sat on the top of the fondue. I'll try this recipe again in the future, I think I can fix it. I think people are correct in saying that you should use corn starch rather than the butter and flower it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
It was my first time making fondue and this turned out pretty good. I followed what others said and used a sauvignon blanc for the wine and grated my cheese instead of using cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelso, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
With only two of us, we halved the amount of cheese. We also doubled the wine, so our recipe was 4 oz of each cheese, grated, and 1 cup of wine (sauvignon blanc). We followed the comment of using 3 Tblsps of cornstarch (1 1/2 here) and eliminating the butter. We have an electric fondue pot so we just put the wine right in the fondue pot, heated it and added the cheese to the pot after mixing the cornstarch into the cheese. It turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I loved this recipe!!! So did my guests. I couldn't find the Emmentaler cheese so I used Edam instead. No matter.. it was sooooo good. If you are a cheese fondue lover.... you've got to try this. I doubled the recipe. There were some leftovers but this is not a leftover type of dish. It turned into a breat implant looking thing the next day! Thanks so much for this recipe Maria. It reminds me of being a kid and skiiing in Canada where they served this. YUMMMMM!! Opps almost forgot... I also used sauvignon blanc wine as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN2005

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This recipe was great! I halved the recipe and, paired with a salad, more than enough for 2 for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Massapequa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
This was nice and easy and tasted great. We had it with bread, granny smith apples and asparagus. I made it right in the fondue pot (ours can go on the stove) and just warmed the wine a bit in the microwave rather than boiling it, to avoid using an extra pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camp Sherman, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
I chose this fondue because it was the only one that seemed to have more than one cheese, and in my opinion - the more cheese, the better! Anyway, I used the helpful reviews I had read and simmered the wine instead of boiling it. I also mixed some of the cheese with flour before melting it, which I think helped it melt quite well. Everyone loved the taste, it was DELICIOUS! My only complaint is that it got a bit oily and I would constantly have to stir it. I'm not sure how to solve that, but other than that it was great. I put out apples, french bread, broccoli and cauliflower to eat with it. MMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garden Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
We liked this a lot. Chose to use an Irish imported white cheddar and liked the bite it gave. Used sauvignon blanc wine - needed a little extra to get a better consistency and just a splash of lemon juice helped too. Didn't make the white sauce first. Mixed flour in with cheeses, heated wine in fondue pot and then added cheese/flour mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I had the same separation problem others have mentioned, but I have to say, after adding quite a bit more wine (I used chardonnay) it smoothed out. I wonder if part of the problem was the cheap cheddar I used. Next time I'll fork over for better quality. The Gruyere and Emmentaler were really good. I cut the recipe down to "6" servings and it was just right for a first course for my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned into a pasty mess, it was a nightmare to try and enjoy dinner with my boyfriend and constantly stir the cheese so it didn't turn into a brick. A big disappointment:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States