Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I'm rating this four only because of the changes I made. First... don't use cubed cheese - use shredded. Second make sure you pick the right wine. I decided "white wine" was WAY too vague. I used a very dry Riesling and it turned out beautifully. Also toss your shredded cheeses with the flour before putting into the pot. Lastly if you enjoy garlic rub a clove inside the fondue pot. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
A little tangy for my taste - my guests liked it, but the children did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I had to make it with chicken broth because the crowd I made it for can't have alcohol. The flavor was still really nice but we did have to work on the consistancy a bit. Ended up adding more liquid and a bit more flour to help it along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LWELKNER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
great cheese fondue. went well with the valentines meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I love fondue! This was a great. I toasted baguette slices, and also served with small sausages and fried potato chunks. While I loved the flavor, my family (who are more of the "Velveeta" type) found it a bit too "whangy". I don't agree, and since I'm the cook, I give this recipe a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I gave this 3 stars because it needed some tweaking to be just right. I followed the recipe and found I had wine and butter with a glob of cheese in the bottom. In my opinion, you can never have too much cheese, so I added a block of cream cheese and the juice of 1 lemon and VIOLA perfectly creamy, tasty, cheese fondue. If you LOVE cheese this is the way to go. The initial recipe gave me the start, since I have never done this before, and the rest was up to me. I read everyone's suggestions and think I will try the cornstarch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
This turned out great! I followed the other reviewers' suggestions of omitting the butter, mixing the flour with the cheese, and rubbing the pot with a garlic clove. I also used Gewurtztraminer for the wine, which added a really nice flavor. When I first added the cheese it did look lumpy and awful and I panicked, but thankfully it smoothed out as I kept mixing. Will definitely make this again. The serving size is off, though. I halved the recipe to make 12 servings and it made enough to barely feed my husband and me (and we don't have big appetites).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I made this for a wine and cheese party. It was perfect!!! Everyone loved its smooth taste. It was an excellent compliment to everything else served without going overboard. I even loved it, and I am not a swiss cheese fan. It went excellently with a dry crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cypress, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I thought this recipe was just so-so. The cheese was really expensive. The flavours were just okay. Not bland, but just okay. Not good enough to justify spending that much money on the cheese, let alone time it took to cut into cubes. Like another reviewer said, just shred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States