Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was a lot better than the traditional Gruyere and Emmentaler fondue. One tip I can say that I got from a fondue cookbook is to take the flour and sprinkle it over your shredded cheese. It sticks to the cheese and then you can add it to the wine. I did make mine in my fondue pot, not on the stove. I also added 1 chopped shallot to the wine. Very delicious! Great with steamed broccoli and apples :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
As you sift through the reviews here, you should chuckle at the ones which ding the recipe review and at the same time tell you all the changes they made to the formula to make it cheaper, more kid friendly, or less authentic. This recipe gives you what you need for a good fondue foundation, which is the most important thing. Here are a few of my tweaks to make it even better...for adults. Foodies, hopefully. First of all, don't use a heavily oaked white wine, like most CA or Aussie chardonnays. Use something like a sauvignon blanc, a Portugese vinho verde, or a light dry riesling. The lower the alcohol and drier the better for this recipe. Some reviewers mentioned shredding the cheese instead of cubing it and I heartily concur. And DO mix the flour into the shreds as it both blends the stuff well and it keeps the cheese from clumping. I use a little more flour than posted here but that doesn't seem to be much of an issue. On the cheeses, just make sure you don't skimp on the Gruyere as it makes the flavor correct. If you are cutting back on one of the cheeses versus the others, make it the cheddar, not the more elegant Swiss cheeses. I don't care if kids don't like it - folks, we're serving an adult dish made with wine here. If you want Cheez-Whiz in a pot, melt some Velveeta into some orange soda. If you really want good authentic flavors, do grill/caramelize a couple of garlic cloves into the fondue pot before you add the wine & cheese. Sprinkle in a half a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Disappointing. Tastes OK but the (inexpensive) cheddar masks the exquisite tastes of the (expensive)Emmenthaler and Gruyere. Try this recipe for 24 servings using 10 1/2 oz each of the latter two cheeses and win adoration from your friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This was really good. We had a lot leftover! My boys (age 3 and 5) did not care for the flavor. I'd like to substitue the swiss cheese for something else. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Huge hit!! I've never made fondue before, I made it for my holiday party. Everyone loved it & asked how i did it. I followed someones suggestion of the rice steamer, it worked perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NeBe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
A little bland but very good considering no wine was involved. We thoroughly enjoyed this and our 2 year old daughter could too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I've made this the past 4 years on Christmas Eve and its the best fondue! I use a Sauvignon Blanc and serve w/ bread, califlower, granny smith apples and summer sausage. Everyone loves it and it heats up great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
This was excellent but very, very rich! I don't have a fondue set so I just melted everything in the Slow Cooker and took it to the table. Cut up all kinds of veges & grilled meats to dip with but my favourite was the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
So yummy!! I made this for my husband, sister and her husband. We ate the whole pot!! I served it with tender crisp cooked baby carrots, brocolli, and cauliflour; mostly cooked potatoes; rustic bread cubes; granny smith apple wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This is my "go-to" cheese fondue recipe! It is fool proof and reheats really well. Be sure to constantly stir and it will be smooth, creamy and lump-free!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States