Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This was my first time making fondue but my husband and I enjoyed it very much and this is an excellent recipe. We did as suggested and grated the cheese and it went very smoothly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Easterling

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I couldn't find Emmentaler, so used Gruyere, Jarlsberg and white cheddar, and I used Pinot Grigio (since that's what I had). I took a lot of reviewer suggestions: added a little lemon juice, added butter to pan to warm up with wine (probably didn't need the butter), and sprinkled flour throughout the cheese. I served this at a party with crusty bread, granny smith apple, cherry tomatoes, cauliflower, blanched broccoli, and meatballs. It was SCRUMPTIOUS!!! My friends have already requested we do it again next month at our next gathering - YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
These three cheese make a great fondue- here are my suggestions to make this a success: 1. I used Sauvignon Blanc with a little lemon juice added (1 tsp). It helps the cheese not to be like glue. 2. Rub a garlic clove on the inside of the pot (either the one you're cooking with or the fondue pot). Discard clove. 3. If you don't want to make a roux (it turned out fine when I didn't) shred the cheese, place it in a plastic bag, and shake it all up with 2 tbsp of flour. Omit the butter. Add the flour-covered cheese about a half-cup at a time to the simmering wine-lemon juice combo, letting each batch melt before adding more. Stir in a figure eight pattern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Made fondue for a wine pairing party. Success! Everyone loved it. My fondue pot sucked, it would be to hot or to cold. We added some more warm Chardonnay which helped out a bit. Cheeses worked well together. Easy recipes Easy prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
YUMMY! My friend made this for our Bunco group and it was a big hit. I can't wait to have it again! I am so glad she forwarded the recipe to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I found this recipe to be excellent. This was the second fondue I have ever attempted and it turned out great. I followed the suggestions here: shredded cheese, no butter, cornmeal, mixing the cornmeal with the cheese. It turned out excellent. I had problem with stringiness but only when the cheese got cold, as long as it was warm it was very easy to dip and eat. I reheated it twice with out problem. ON the second reheat it did get oily but with a little more heating and stirring fixed that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Following other comments I used 3 tbsp cornstarch instead of flour and left out the butter, and I grated the cheeses in my food processor and mixed the cornstarch in with them before adding to the wine (Sauvignon Blanc). Also, I used Edam in place of Emmentaler, but only because I couldn't get Emmentaler nearby. The result was truly a perfect fondue and my girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The cheese was really good. I cooked it in my fondue pot. It kept getting clumpy though which I couldn't understand why. We had to keep stirring it every so often to be able to actually dip things in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I love this recipe. Making a roux is the only way I have been able to consistently make a great fondue. Try subbing in smoked gouda for one of cheeses to add a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I am a cheese lover and I made this for my friend's birthday party and we loved it. Would definitely make it again. My fondue pot wasn't the best so I might buy a better one because the cheese was still a little harder than it should have been and it stuck to the bottom of the pot. But overall it tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States