Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
While the ingredients made a great flavored fondue, the recipe itself is vague at the most. After following the recipe to a T and spending nearly 17 bucks on good imported cheeses, the fondue failed. I searched around online to see what went wrong and found that: 1.) Wine should never be boiled-simmer it instead. 2.) The right wine makes all the difference. Fondue needs a wine with high acic levels to break down the proteins in cheese. Chardonay is bad Sauvignon is good. You can fix a failed fondue by heating it up again and adding lemonjuice. The acids in the lemon juice break down the cheese and makes it more melty. 3.) Cubes? What, 1" cubes? 3" cubes? Tiny, tiny, might-as-well-be-shredded cubes? Just shred your cheese. I fixed the "voted best" fondue recipe with lemon juice. I'm guessing whatever made this recipe work for others probably had something to do with the quality of their cheeses (more emulsifiers melt easier), or the type of wine they used, or they're "ghost writers" related to the author. I'm giving this recipe a single star based on it's lack of informaton and clarity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
As you sift through the reviews here, you should chuckle at the ones which ding the recipe review and at the same time tell you all the changes they made to the formula to make it cheaper, more kid friendly, or less authentic. This recipe gives you what you need for a good fondue foundation, which is the most important thing. Here are a few of my tweaks to make it even better...for adults. Foodies, hopefully. First of all, don't use a heavily oaked white wine, like most CA or Aussie chardonnays. Use something like a sauvignon blanc, a Portugese vinho verde, or a light dry riesling. The lower the alcohol and drier the better for this recipe. Some reviewers mentioned shredding the cheese instead of cubing it and I heartily concur. And DO mix the flour into the shreds as it both blends the stuff well and it keeps the cheese from clumping. I use a little more flour than posted here but that doesn't seem to be much of an issue. On the cheeses, just make sure you don't skimp on the Gruyere as it makes the flavor correct. If you are cutting back on one of the cheeses versus the others, make it the cheddar, not the more elegant Swiss cheeses. I don't care if kids don't like it - folks, we're serving an adult dish made with wine here. If you want Cheez-Whiz in a pot, melt some Velveeta into some orange soda. If you really want good authentic flavors, do grill/caramelize a couple of garlic cloves into the fondue pot before you add the wine & cheese. Sprinkle in a half a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
I made this for my husband and he loved it! I do have a few suggestions - First, DO use a Sauvignon Blanc for the wine. Second, SHRED the cheeses and toss the tablespoon (or so) of flour in with the shredded cheeses instead of cooking with the wine. Using a double boiler or Fondue pot typically used for chocolate will also help keep this from clumping and/or burning. Last, I omitted the butter and rubbed the pot with a garlic clove before simmering the wine. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
929 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I'm rating this four only because of the changes I made. First... don't use cubed cheese - use shredded. Second make sure you pick the right wine. I decided "white wine" was WAY too vague. I used a very dry Riesling and it turned out beautifully. Also toss your shredded cheeses with the flour before putting into the pot. Lastly if you enjoy garlic rub a clove inside the fondue pot. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
With only two of us, we halved the amount of cheese. We also doubled the wine, so our recipe was 4 oz of each cheese, grated, and 1 cup of wine (sauvignon blanc). We followed the comment of using 3 Tblsps of cornstarch (1 1/2 here) and eliminating the butter. We have an electric fondue pot so we just put the wine right in the fondue pot, heated it and added the cheese to the pot after mixing the cornstarch into the cheese. It turned out terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This fondue was absolutely fabulous, I've been thinking about it ever since we had it three days ago! We couldn't find Emmentaler, so we used Edam, and we also added some fresh herbs: chives and a little cilantro, that added some great flavor. Afterwards I also heard on a cooking show that if you add a bit of lemon juice to the cheese fondue it keeps it from getting stringy. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this for a christmas fondue party on the 22nd. It was fabulous! The cheeses blended easily, the wine and chedder added just the right tang. I'll make it again for New Year's! (I ended up using 8oz of each cheese, as they were available in half pound blocks from my grocer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
This recipe was a big hit with my family. It was delicious with apples and french bread. Grating the cheese did help to make it melt faster, and a few drops of lemon juice took care of the clumping problem. We had to fight over the last drops at the bottom of the fondue pot! Next time I will make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Really good fondue! I used a half pound of each cheese (which I shredded and added to the pot a handful at a time till melted), a New Zealand sauvignon blanc, and served with veggies, granny smith apples, bosc pears, and a crunchy loaf of bread from a specialty bakery. I had no problems with stringiness. It was a smooth, creamy fondue that everyone loved. In fact, we were using the bread to mop up the remaining drops in the fondue pot. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Outstanding! Having received a new fondue pot for Christmas, I gave your recipe a whirl. The key to this recipe is to blend the flour and butter and wine first, unlike similar recipes. I also added about a teaspoon of ground nutmeg to round it out. It was a huge hit with our friends for a New Years Eve dinner. Consider this one a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Cheese Fondue

See how to make a classic cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States