Best Formula Three-Cheese Fondue Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
I found this recipe to be excellent. This was the second fondue I have ever attempted and it turned out great. I followed the suggestions here: shredded cheese, no butter, cornmeal, mixing the cornmeal with the cheese. It turned out excellent. I had problem with stringiness but only when the cheese got cold, as long as it was warm it was very easy to dip and eat. I reheated it twice with out problem. ON the second reheat it did get oily but with a little more heating and stirring fixed that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Following other comments I used 3 tbsp cornstarch instead of flour and left out the butter, and I grated the cheeses in my food processor and mixed the cornstarch in with them before adding to the wine (Sauvignon Blanc). Also, I used Edam in place of Emmentaler, but only because I couldn't get Emmentaler nearby. The result was truly a perfect fondue and my girlfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
The cheese was really good. I cooked it in my fondue pot. It kept getting clumpy though which I couldn't understand why. We had to keep stirring it every so often to be able to actually dip things in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I love this recipe. Making a roux is the only way I have been able to consistently make a great fondue. Try subbing in smoked gouda for one of cheeses to add a nice smoky flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I am a cheese lover and I made this for my friend's birthday party and we loved it. Would definitely make it again. My fondue pot wasn't the best so I might buy a better one because the cheese was still a little harder than it should have been and it stuck to the bottom of the pot. But overall it tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This was wonderful! I was unable to find Emmentaler Cheese exactly, so I substituted a high quality swiss. I also used high quality gruyere and sharp cheddar. (The cheeses were pricey, but I think you have a better result with better cheese selections.) I chose to add Sauvignon Blanc for the wine. We dipped summer sausuage, steamed asparagus, steamed dutch white mini potatoes, pear wedges, and french bread. Everything tasted great! (Especially the pears.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Yum. Yum yum yum yum. We followed the advice of others and used Sauvignon Blanc. Our supermarket didn't have Emmentaler so we substituted a very expensive regular swiss. We grated the cheese prior to adding it to the wine, and stirred constantly as it melted. I also added a little kirsch. The taste and texture were perfect! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I thought this was very good!.. I did add some some garlic powder and a dash of dry mustard, salt and pepper!.. When I got done it was too thick, so I reduced a little more wine down and whisked it in.. Served for my sons b-day dinner. I thought it was great.. Not really the flavors the kids go for though!..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This was a lot better than the traditional Gruyere and Emmentaler fondue. One tip I can say that I got from a fondue cookbook is to take the flour and sprinkle it over your shredded cheese. It sticks to the cheese and then you can add it to the wine. I did make mine in my fondue pot, not on the stove. I also added 1 chopped shallot to the wine. Very delicious! Great with steamed broccoli and apples :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
As you sift through the reviews here, you should chuckle at the ones which ding the recipe review and at the same time tell you all the changes they made to the formula to make it cheaper, more kid friendly, or less authentic. This recipe gives you what you need for a good fondue foundation, which is the most important thing. Here are a few of my tweaks to make it even better...for adults. Foodies, hopefully. First of all, don't use a heavily oaked white wine, like most CA or Aussie chardonnays. Use something like a sauvignon blanc, a Portugese vinho verde, or a light dry riesling. The lower the alcohol and drier the better for this recipe. Some reviewers mentioned shredding the cheese instead of cubing it and I heartily concur. And DO mix the flour into the shreds as it both blends the stuff well and it keeps the cheese from clumping. I use a little more flour than posted here but that doesn't seem to be much of an issue. On the cheeses, just make sure you don't skimp on the Gruyere as it makes the flavor correct. If you are cutting back on one of the cheeses versus the others, make it the cheddar, not the more elegant Swiss cheeses. I don't care if kids don't like it - folks, we're serving an adult dish made with wine here. If you want Cheez-Whiz in a pot, melt some Velveeta into some orange soda. If you really want good authentic flavors, do grill/caramelize a couple of garlic cloves into the fondue pot before you add the wine & cheese. Sprinkle in a half a
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1200 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

How to Make Classic Swiss Fondue

Make this classic, creamy Swiss fondue with the shredder of your food processor.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States