Best Ever Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This is the best homeade tuna salad recipe i've ever had. It's a must try for any tuna salad fan. You can make varaitions on it to fit your taste. To save time you can omit the boiled egg without losing anything in the flavor department. I also suggest a half cup of onion, instead of a 3/4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2002
This was just WAY too much trouble for something that should be quick and easy. Although the taste was interesting, it isn't something that would make me want to try it again, or serve it to guests. The taste just wasn't worth the time and trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This recipe is perfect! I doubt I will use any other for tuna salad. I substituted slightly to make it low fat: using 4 hard boiled egg whites, fat-free Miracle Whip, and fat-free sour cream. Everything else I followed exactly and served it on toasted English muffins with sliced tomatoes and a sprinkle of lemon pepper. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2005
I loved this tuna salad. I've been looking for quite a while for some tricks to make my tuna salad more like those that restaurants serve and less like me just opening a can and adding ingredients at random. This did the trick! I omitted the crab meat (because I don't eat crab) and used dill pickle juice (instead of the relish as I didn't have any). I used freshly grated pepper instead of lemon pepper. It was excellent. I scarfed it down immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
My family absolutely loves this recipe. I've made this many times. My teenager says she doesn't like tuna salad but she loves this. I had been searching for something more interesting than the normal tuna salad and this is it!!! I'll make this everytime instead of that boring stuff. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is a superb tuna salad that I wouldn't hesitate to serve at buffet or light lunch with Martha Stewart -- or even the President, for that matter. I have always put sweet relish, mayo, and hard boiled egg in my own tuna salad, but this one is so creamy-spreadable and so palate pleasing, I plan on passing the recipe on to friends. Ordinarily, a "mere" tuna salad would not merit that attention, but this version is a classic and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Needed to make something in a hurry for an afternoon picnic - and had most of the ingredients except substituted dill pickle relish with a few pickle slices diced up - grated a tsp of lemon rind instead of using lemon pepper - used 1/2 cup of green onions - and 1 tsp of dry dijon mustard. Am saving this one in my recipe file. Excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Update: The flavors seemd to "marry" overnight & this was much better this morning! Had for brunch on a toasted English muffin. If I make again, I won't add the mustard, or prehaps use Dijon. Original review: The mustard in this tasted weird to me. I couldn't taste the crab (I have always thought when using crab, keep the ingredients simple so that you taste the sweetness of the crab meat). Also, two types of pickle relish plus the addition of dill weed is overkill. Sorry, didn't really like this one. ):
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This was good but not extraordinary. It just wasn't worth the time or the ingredients. Just goes to show, IMO, that sometimes the most basic recipes are the best recipes. On the other hand, I served the leftovers as a dip with 7-grain crackers and my guests loved it. I substituted shrimp for the crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is the ONLY tuna salad I make now. I have followed the recipe as written and it is delicious but I no longer add the crabmeat since no one can really taste it. I just use less mayo. Also, since some people don't really like it too sweet, I will use mostly dill relish and just a touch of sweet pickle relish. A lot of times, I'll make a double batch because it tastes so much better the next day. It's so yummy that I think I'll make it now and have it for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States