Best Ever Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I found this recipe to be quite a disapointment. The cooking instructions were inaccurate and the bare taste was blande, and not sweet enough. I would not recommend ANYONE to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
very bland and hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
These cookies are definetly not the "Best Ever Sugar Cookies". However, with a few minor adjustments, they can be quite yummy! Instead of Sour Cream , we used vanilla yogurt. We used less flour, and more sugar, and added icing decorations on top of them. These simple substitutions made these cookies more enjoyable then the original recipe. - D&H
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
My daughter is allergic to egg. We have a crisp, shortbread-like sugar cookie recipe that is egg-free, and this recipe gives us a tender sugar cookie recipe too. You can change this up by skipping the nutmeg and subbing a tsp. of vanilla, or by putting a little fresh lemon zest in. I looked at the other reviews, and altered the recipe with 2 Tbsp. more of sugar and about 3 Tbsp. more sour cream. The dough is delicious, the cookies are tender. Rolled them out to 1/4 inch thickness, as 1/2 inch seemed way too thick. Baked about 10 minutes, then cooled on the sheet for a few minutes before transferring to the cooling rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
THEY ARE NOT THE BEST EVER COOKIES
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I liked this recipe because it was easy to make and also very tasty too! I can tell you kids do like it for I am only 12 years (gr.7) old my self. I know that some kids say they like it when they realy don't. That is why I gave this recipe five stars! If you were wondering how I found this website it is because in famlay studys I am doing a cook book. I was looking for recipes on the internet! Hope to see you soon! Your friend teen_in_2001
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I thought this was a great recipe! Although, I have to admit, I did some tweeking after reading the other reviews. I added an additional 1/8 -1/4 cup of sugar along with a teaspoon or so of vanilla extract to the dough. The end result were, honest to God, the Best Ever Sugar Cookies! Even my husband, who doesn't have much of a sweet tooth, loved them! They're great plain or with frosting. maybe next time I'll roll balls of dough into a cinnamon and sugar mixture for a variation on the Snickerdoodle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made these today for Christmas cookie cutouts. I used very small cutters and they worked great! AND very tasty. I haven't had very good luck with cutouts in the past in the flavor department. These are wonderful! I used powdered sugar instead of flour for rolling them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Yikes...not very tasty. They look pretty...that's about all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Wow. Well, I didn't chill the dough because it was already too dry. I added a tad of apple sauce to make it pliable. Also, added pecans and vanilla extract to add flavor. Still... tasted terrible. I wish I could give this a good review, but even with the tweaking, I did not care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoraxAngel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kherson, Kherson Oblast, Ukraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Peanut Butter Cookies Ever

Your family will love these dense, no-flour cookies.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States