Best Ever Strawberry Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
I made this recipe twice. The first time, I made the cake exactly as the recipe specified, and I found the cake to be delicious and light, but somewhat lackluster in strawberry taste. My friends could hardly tell it was a strawberry cake, apart from the icing, which was store-bought strawberry. The second time, I made the cake again in the exact same fashion, but put in considerably more strawberry purée (a little over 2 cups), and completely melted my butter before adding it (just added that to be fair, though I highly doubt it really changed anything). I also added a small handful of diced strawberry pieces to further accentuate the missing strawberry flavor. I decided to actually make the recipe's icing this time as well. The second yield was an enormous improvement over the first. So, as long as you make those small adjustments, this recipe is quite tasty and a strong recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Mine came out awesome, but I did do some tweaking, so I gave 4 stars cause I'm not sure how it would have come out with my adjustments. Here's what I did-- first off, I cooked down the frozen strawberries for about 10-15 minutes then strained out the solids with a sieve, pressing out every precious drop of juice ( I had only about a 1/4 cup solids left to discard from about 24 oz berries) I was left with about 1/2 c strawberry reduction. I used 1/2 c whole milk, 1.5 tsp vanilla, 1.5 tsp strawberry extract, 1/4 tsp red food coloring then with the eggs... I only used the whites, and rather than blending them into the milk mixture,I beat them (at room temp) with an electric mixer/whisk attachment, till they had soft peaks and blended them in at the end, only for a short time till they were evenly blended, but not enough to chase out the air. I baked mine in a 10 inch round wilton pan that is 3 in deep, so it took about 40 minutes to cook but will be thick enough to slice through the center to fill. this is THE lightest and airiest cake I've EVER made! Beautifully pink and strawberry flavored!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I made the cake portion of this recipe, with no changes except I only had AP flour not cake flour. I made cupcakes from the batter and they were delicious. Cooked for 20 minutes. They didn't have a strong strawberry flavor, but were moist. Will definitely make this recipe again, and might have to try the frosting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I haven't actually tried the cake yet, but it looks and smells fantastic. However, with the addition of the 1/2 strawberry puree to the frosting, it's very thin. I added about another 1/2 cup of powdered sugar, plus almost 1/2 cup of flour and some cream of tarter, but it's still pretty loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I am happy to be the first reviewer of this recipe! It is quite tasty and VERY rich. A small piece is plenty. The description of this cake says it is light. Though I followed the directions to the letter, my cake was rather heavy and dense. It also took much longer to bake than stated (about 35 minutes). The cake does not have a strong strawberry flavor and the color is far from the usual pink color of most strawberry cakes. The frosting really makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
The cake lacked flavour. The texture was eggy. Not as moist as I had hoped. Colour not appealing. Sorry I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
This is a moderately tatsy cake, but to refer to it as strawberry is an overstatement. There is no real strawberry flavor to this cake, much to my disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is the weirdest cake I've ever made. Super eggy in consistency, and has to bake FOREVER since the batter is so thin...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Brownie Cupcake: The 2nd Best Cupcake Ever

See how to make a vanilla cupcake with a secret surprise inside.

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States