Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
This was my first time making split pea soup and I couldn't have started with a better recipe. I did use all green split peas and didn't have any salt-free seasoning so I added a little bit of curry instead as well as a few pieces of canadian bacon. Very good recipe and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This soup was so good Robin. Hubby has been on a mission to eat healthier and he gave this 2 thumbs up! I chopped up a medium sized ham steak and added this to the soup along with some dried thyme and crushed dried rosemary. This gave the soup a little extra flavor and I will make it again this way. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
The thing that amazes me about this soup is its rich flavor achieved without the help of any cream, butter or meat. Great recipe! This is definitely going into my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Great, simple, delicious. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
A wonderful soup! I didn't puree it because it cooked up so nice and thick. Also, mine was done after only about 1 3/4 hrs. (of course, the extra time simmering just added to the flavor). Will definitely try it with curry; that sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Garberville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Excellent recipe. Thanks! Just like mom made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This is the first time I've made split pea soup and my whole family loved it (including the 4 and 7 year olds!)I threw in a ham bone and simmered it the whole time for extra flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I love this recipe. It's just proof that you dont need any ham or other fatty meats. Good for kids, there isn't any "Yucky stuff" to pick out (like meat). The blender step makes a major difference. If you want some texture, only blend 1/2 or 3/4 of it, then add it back. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
we like split pea soup & i've made it in the past however this was my first time using yellow peas. they seemed to have a slightly milder flavor. i followed this recipe exactly as written with the lone exception of adding the meat from 2 smoked ham hocks. thank you robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Don't know what makes this recipe so good but it is definately the best ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States