Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Soak peas over night in water; when done discard water. This step gets rid of all the gas in the peas and easier to digest plus less flatulence. Follow soup directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Inna N
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Mmmmm... best ever indeed. It came out yummy. I did not puree the soup at the end because I liked the chunkiness. Also, it looked ready after only an hour, and the peas were all soft, so I took it off the heat. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was easy and good, and just the right thickness. I used all green split peas, and didn't have any salt-free seasoning (such as Mrs. Dash) on hand, so I just used about 2 t. curry powder and 1/4 t. black pepper for seasoning. I like a little texture in my pea soup, so I only pureed about 3 c. of the soup in the blender, then added it back to the pot. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
A solid easy to make puree of split pea soup. Suggest adding potatoe and a 1/4 tsp of curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This soup was wonderful. I had never had split pea soup that did not call for ham so I was concerned that it would not have enough flavor. I was quite surprised. I just put all the ingredients in a crockpot except for the oil and the salt free seasoning blend (I didn't have any). I only used green peas and I doubled the recipe except for the water. I used 12 cups of water instead of 16. I also used Wyler's Shakers boullion that is chicken garlic and herb flavor. Then I slow-cooked it for 6 hours. It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is truly the Best Split Pea Soup Ever. This recipe is so good that I became an allrecipe member today. I made two substitutions to the soup. I used 1 cup of lentils for the green split peas, so my soup was 50% yellow split peas and 50% lentils. I also added Country Ham cubes. For my seasoning I used Ms. Dash Table Blend. The Soup turned out Great! Note: Since the split pea breaks down when cooking I do not recommend pureeing the soup but that is just a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This is a great and easy recipe, the whole family loves it and when I ran out of chicken broth one time I used beef broth instead it was a great alternate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Excellent flavor and easy to prepare. The best pea soup I have tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Great recipe even though I had to tweak; I left out the celery and didn't use the seasoning blend-in fact salt and pepper was just enough. I also used vegi broth instead of chicken. The reason why I gave it a 4 would be because I found that 8 cups was too much--it cooked for the 2/12 hours but seems a bit watery. I'll defintitely follow this recipe again because the taste is there but cut the broth by a cup or maybe 2. I also threw it in my magic bullet and pureed it--nice!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
The soup is delicious. After only one hour I added a cup of diced ham and simmered another 15 minutes. I found that 75 minutes of simmering is plenty instead of the 2 1/2 hours stated. I too used an immersion blender (so much easier to blend right in the pot). I've made this twice now. When I told my husband I was going to make this (for the second time) he said "Like the last time? Cooool! Mmmmmmm!" Don't for get the crusty bread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Katora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States