Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I made this for my husband who loves split pea soup. the only changes I made was taking another's reviewer's suggestion and instead of the salt free blend, used the blend of rosemary,thyme cumin, garlic powder, and curry powder and only cooked it 75 mins. My Husband who is picky loved it and asked me to make it again and although I thought I didn't like split pea soup am a fan now as well. Thanks for the good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
have made this twice and it's turned out great both times. you can be flexible with the ingredients... i never measure the veggies, and last time i only had green and red split peas, which turned out fine. i also add way more garlic than it calls for, and didn't use fat free broth (didn't have any) thx for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I made this with all green split peas and used 7 cups of vegetable broth instead of 8 (4 14oz. cans) I added the last can after it was done cooking. It was very good and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was really good, i used only green peas didn't want to buy both and being vegetarian used veg. Broth. Served in a sourdough bread bowl. Im stuffed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was the first soup I've ever made from scratch and it was SO easy and delicious! Healthy and filling, I will definitely be making it all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Outstanding! This is now my new "Go To Split Pea Soup Recipe". I doctored the recipe a little (as I do with almost everything I make) by adding a medium potato and using celery seed because I didn't have celrey. I also cut back on the chicken broth to about 6 cups. This, and the potato helped to thicken the soup without having to add flour, which I think tends to bland soups. However, the base recipe was responsible for creating a wonderfully tastey soup that Robin should be proud of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Inna Nusinzon
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Mmmmm... best ever indeed. It came out yummy. I did not puree the soup at the end because I liked the chunkiness. Also, it looked ready after only an hour, and the peas were all soft, so I took it off the heat. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inna Nusinzon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I was not impressed. The flavor was fine, but it came out nearly as thin as water. Adding flour helped slightly. I followed the recipe exactly, so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was delicious. I didn't have salt-free seasoning mix, so I took suggestions from other reviewers and used the following: 1/4 tsp each of rosemary, thyme, cumin, garlic powder (not "minced") and celery and 1/2 tsp curry. I didn't use any fresh celery. Also, instead of chicken broth, I used 1 Tbsp chicken flavored broth powder. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Great recipe! Flavorful, cheap, and filling. I didn't have salt-free seasoning, so I used some cumin and oregano. Cumin tastes GREAT in this soup. I bet different seasonings would be good as well. Yum, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States