Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This was really good, i used only green peas didn't want to buy both and being vegetarian used veg. Broth. Served in a sourdough bread bowl. Im stuffed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
This was the first soup I've ever made from scratch and it was SO easy and delicious! Healthy and filling, I will definitely be making it all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
Outstanding! This is now my new "Go To Split Pea Soup Recipe". I doctored the recipe a little (as I do with almost everything I make) by adding a medium potato and using celery seed because I didn't have celrey. I also cut back on the chicken broth to about 6 cups. This, and the potato helped to thicken the soup without having to add flour, which I think tends to bland soups. However, the base recipe was responsible for creating a wonderfully tastey soup that Robin should be proud of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Inna N
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Mmmmm... best ever indeed. It came out yummy. I did not puree the soup at the end because I liked the chunkiness. Also, it looked ready after only an hour, and the peas were all soft, so I took it off the heat. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I was not impressed. The flavor was fine, but it came out nearly as thin as water. Adding flour helped slightly. I followed the recipe exactly, so I don't know what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
This was delicious. I didn't have salt-free seasoning mix, so I took suggestions from other reviewers and used the following: 1/4 tsp each of rosemary, thyme, cumin, garlic powder (not "minced") and celery and 1/2 tsp curry. I didn't use any fresh celery. Also, instead of chicken broth, I used 1 Tbsp chicken flavored broth powder. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
Great recipe! Flavorful, cheap, and filling. I didn't have salt-free seasoning, so I used some cumin and oregano. Cumin tastes GREAT in this soup. I bet different seasonings would be good as well. Yum, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
I have made this several times and love it. My husband who is vegetable and soup phobic tried it and loved it. I was amazed when he asked for a bowl of it. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
This is truly the best pea soup I have had. I finely chopped up the veggies in my little processor and added about a 1/2 tsp of curry powder to give it a little zing. I used a hand blender to puree it. It turned out beautifully. I am the only on in my home to eat it, but who cares, the more for me :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I also added 2 Tbsp Ham base. It tasted wonderful, as if I cooked a ham with the soup for hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States