Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Great recipe even though I had to tweak; I left out the celery and didn't use the seasoning blend-in fact salt and pepper was just enough. I also used vegi broth instead of chicken. The reason why I gave it a 4 would be because I found that 8 cups was too much--it cooked for the 2/12 hours but seems a bit watery. I'll defintitely follow this recipe again because the taste is there but cut the broth by a cup or maybe 2. I also threw it in my magic bullet and pureed it--nice!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
EXCELLENT Used 4 cans of low sodium ck broth. Scored 3 small smoked pork hocks. Also threw in 3 large bay leaves. Simmered 2 1/2 hrs. when finished, I put about 3 cups of soup in a bowl and blended with my immersion blended. returmed soup to pot and it was so thick the next day that I had to add another can of broth. Will definately make again. P.S. Hardly any meat on the hocks so I added 2 cups chopped baked ham. Had some leftover in fridge.I make this often and don't use the blender any more. If I think it needs to thicken up a little I just add instant potato flakes. Works like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Very good. I used all green peas and drizzled balsamic vinegar on top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
this was delicious. We had company over and used it as a side dish. It was hearty - my friend who is pregnant loved it. She is grossed out by pork right now so it was nice that it is meatless since a lot of pea soups have ham in them. I didnt have yellow peas so just used all green. Also I didnt blend anything. Let it just simmer. I eyeballed all the ingredients - guessing that it was pretty close to what was listd and it was great. A little curry was a nice touch. I simmered the soup for 75 minutes as many reviews said you could shorten the time; but the peas were not fully cooked (barely noticeable). Next time I would simmer longer. Very good, and the our friends kept saying how delicious it was. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This soup is wonderful. I like to make lots of extra and freeze what we don't eat. Then when I want some for lunch on a cold winter day...I have some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
Easy to make but low on flavor. Can be improved by serving with cheese and black pepper sprinkled on top, and crusty bread on the side for dipping. Also, would be better with ham thrown it, as a lot of other reviewers suggested. I picked this recipe because I had everything on hand, but next time I think I'd make the trip to the store and try a recipe with more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Delicious. Made this for our New Year's Eve gathering with family. Everyone loved it. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noah's Daddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
absolutely wonderful recipe for split pea. i add two ham hocks to the recipe as well to give it even more flavor. i skip the step that calls for it to be put in the food processor because the texture seems fine after 2 1/2 to 3 hours of simmering. a great recipe for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Yum! I made this in my crockpot @ work..in fact..I still smell it simmering away :D The only changes I made was I added 2 cans of chicken stock (4 cups) and a can of water (2 cups). I dumped 2 cups of green split peas in along w/ the broth. I didn't measure the veggies. I used 1 small onion minced, 3 med. carrots, finely chopped, and 3 stalks celery finely chopped. I also added 2 cloves of garlic, and the Salt-Free seasoning blend. (oh yeah, and salt. lol)I added 3 strips of bacon, diced and I simmered for 6 hours on low, then used an immersion blender to mix it up a little. It came out so yummy! I'm planning on serving this w/ croutons or crusty bread. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbsintheMinded0

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Hampton, New York, USA
Living In: Anniston, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
I made this for my husband who loves split pea soup. the only changes I made was taking another's reviewer's suggestion and instead of the salt free blend, used the blend of rosemary,thyme cumin, garlic powder, and curry powder and only cooked it 75 mins. My Husband who is picky loved it and asked me to make it again and although I thought I didn't like split pea soup am a fan now as well. Thanks for the good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States