Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great flavor. I think I added too much carrot, but it was still yummy. Not mushy, a big plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very Good! I used an electric blending stick right in the pot, it worked great. Like most soups it was even better the next day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
just wasn't very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good, but I only needed to cook it for an hour, and I didn't need to puree it to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
very yummy and very easy to make! I used all green peas, added a potato and reduced the salt. I also added little bits of ham after I pureed the soup for a little bit of texture - YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Good recipe. I was looking for a vegetarian split pea soup. I used vegetable broth and had no need to puree the soup as it was nice and thick already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I am only giving this a 4 stars because it really isn't the BEST EVER split pea soup in my book. But it may be the best without ham or bacon or some other kind of meat. I reduced the recipe down to two servings and didn't need the full cook time. I added so many different spices I just can not recall. I used two packets of NO-sodium broth. with two cups of water. I added frozen broccoli and cauliflower in place of the cellary, as I did not have any and added a lot of cellary seed as well. All was good and served its purpose. Would make again! Thank you. Oh, and mine was not soupy like in the picture. It was exactly the consistancy split pea soup should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
WONDERFUL! I am so glad that I found a great tasting split pea soup recipe!! We just made a huge pot of it and will be freezing some and canning the rest. The only changes: all green peas instead of half yellow (the green peas were cheapest), 3 t of salt and 1/4 t black pepper. We also used chicken stock from a chicken I stewed last night, so it wasn't fat free, but I do skim the fat off the top before I use it, so it's fairly lean. Didn't have to puree it to get it to be creamy - we left it on the stove long enough that almost all the peas cooked down well. Thank you - my two year old LOVED it for lunch, and what a money saver - around $4 for at least 16 servings in my opinion (it's so thick, we eat about two ladle fulls a piece and are full) - it's way cheaper than buying it canned, especially if you buy all organic like we do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
For split pea soup, this one was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This was great. I have been looking for a split pea soup without bacon or ham hock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarborough Fair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prunedale, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States