Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Delicious! I only used yellow split peas - So i doubled the amount of split peas called for in the recipe. I added 2 sweet potatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Usually I like to add a little meat to split pea soup but this one doesn't need it. I've made it as submitted and its very good. Also, one time I was short on chicken broth but I had a can of Trader Joe's onion soup in the cupboard. That was very good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Instead of chicken broth, I substituted Knorr's chicken bouillon and did not add additional salt. I used the slowcooker after cooking the onion, carrot, celery and garlic for 2.5 hours and because I didn't want to puree the entire, I used a potato masher to smash the split peas, which left most of the carrots and celery in tack. This was a very delicious soup. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great flavor. I think I added too much carrot, but it was still yummy. Not mushy, a big plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Very Good! I used an electric blending stick right in the pot, it worked great. Like most soups it was even better the next day. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
just wasn't very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Very good, but I only needed to cook it for an hour, and I didn't need to puree it to get it the right consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
very yummy and very easy to make! I used all green peas, added a potato and reduced the salt. I also added little bits of ham after I pureed the soup for a little bit of texture - YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Good recipe. I was looking for a vegetarian split pea soup. I used vegetable broth and had no need to puree the soup as it was nice and thick already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I am only giving this a 4 stars because it really isn't the BEST EVER split pea soup in my book. But it may be the best without ham or bacon or some other kind of meat. I reduced the recipe down to two servings and didn't need the full cook time. I added so many different spices I just can not recall. I used two packets of NO-sodium broth. with two cups of water. I added frozen broccoli and cauliflower in place of the cellary, as I did not have any and added a lot of cellary seed as well. All was good and served its purpose. Would make again! Thank you. Oh, and mine was not soupy like in the picture. It was exactly the consistancy split pea soup should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Idar-Oberstein, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States