Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
A basic split pea soup that is long on flavor. Simple to make. Added 1 tsp. of fresh rosemary and 5-7 bay leaves for a slight flavor boost. Recipe can be easily modified for individual taste preferences, including adding ham if so inclined. Followed directions other than simmer time reduced to about 1-3/4 hrs. If you like a chunky split pea soup, reserve some carrots, celery, and possibly split peas instead of running everything through a blender or food processor. Give this a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The right consistency, but I didn't blend it. I cooked it for an hour and 15min and that was enough. The peas broke down and I left the carrots chopped for some texture. I think it needed some more seasoning, but it was pretty good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Very good. Not quite as rich as one maked with pork but much healthier. I left it chunky & added chunks of cooked ham & quinoa. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is the Best Ever Split Pea Soup I have ever eaten. I am not a fan of ham so this recipe called me to try it. Followed the recipe exactly and wouldn't change a thing. Filling, Delicious & will make many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
True to it's name: BEST EVER! I cooked this in a crock pot and used a stick blender to puree before serving. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYCE LITOFF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I used a hambone in the soup. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minky410

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is so simple, yet so good. I just used a one-pound bag of dry green split peas. I also added two bay leaves, which I removed before pureeing with my immersion blender. Other than that, I followed the recipe as written. This can be made as smooth or as chunky as desired. I froze half the recipe for later. Next time, I will have to try adding curry as another reviewer suggested. This is a good recipe for the beginning cook as well, so will be letting my stepdaughter make it too. I think she will be so proud of the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My whole family, including my 2 and 1 year olds, love this! They get grilled cheese sandwiches to dip in it, and hubby and I get homemade french bread. Yum! The only change I make is to use all yellow split peas and I add one sweet potato. This will be a winter staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
This is truly the Best Split Pea Soup Ever. This recipe is so good that I became an allrecipe member today. I made two substitutions to the soup. I used 1 cup of lentils for the green split peas, so my soup was 50% yellow split peas and 50% lentils. I also added Country Ham cubes. For my seasoning I used Ms. Dash Table Blend. The Soup turned out Great! Note: Since the split pea breaks down when cooking I do not recommend pureeing the soup but that is just a preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Was good, but I think next time less broth, more seasoning?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Taylor

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hancock, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States