Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Easy delish recipe. I added mushrooms to the veggie sauté. Yum! Great with cubed Easter ham leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Very good, first time having split pea soup. Kids were not much of a fan...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used 1/2 cup onion instead of 2 (we don't love onion), simmered a little over an hour and it was ready to blend. An immersion blender worked great but it was hot! Probably should have let it cool a bit first. For salt free seasoning I used equal parts (about 1/3 tsp) tumeric, paprika, sugar, garlic powder and some dried onion. Only complaint is the color is orangish and not green when blended. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
OMG this was soooo good. I think i added too much broth so it came out thin (my fault). Instead of salt free seasoning blend (didnt have) i used cajun seasoning. Put the whole thing in a blender after cooking it for several hours and man o man was it stinkin delish! What i really loved too was that prep work was so easy and took about 10-15 mins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Rubino
Living In: Bay Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Wow! I used bacon drippings from breakfast to saute veggies and garlic. Added a little white wine :) to get all the good stuff from the bottom of pan. Used Tony Chachere's Salt Free Seasoning (no MSG). Simmered with a smoked ham hock, two bay leaves and a teaspoon of dried thyme. Immersion blender worked like a charm to obtain a smooth and silky texture. My house smells AMAZING!!! Thank you for an awesome, basic split pea recipe that can be played with, or not!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I always make soups from scratch and this one was fantastic. For those who like a little more excitement, definitely add more spices, like curry powder. But even the regular taste was a hit with my we-only-eat-grilled-cheese kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Needs the ham. Bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
DH and I loved this soup! Ours was pretty much ready to eat at about the 2 hour mark of simmering since our stove has a higher than we'd like simmer. We didn't even puree any of this soup as it was fantastic just the way it is! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly, except for pureeing at the end. It was delicious! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
An absolutely delicious soup!! I put everything in a crockpot and cooked it on low all day. I made two small adjustments to the recipe to suit my taste by adding one small ham steak cubed and a generous pinch of hot pepper flakes. I may have used more liquid than called for as well. I put in two large tetra boxes of chicken stock and then filled the slow cooker to about 3/4 full with water. It turned out just right. Because I added the ham cubes, I did not blend the soup but I used a potato masher to smooth it out a bit. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shonna11

Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States