Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I am used to pea soup cooked with a ham bone, but this is healthier and not bad at all. I made sure to saute the vegetables thoroughly before adding the remaining ingredients since I didn't want the onion to overpower the flavors. I didn't really see the need to get out the blender and puree any of the soup, so I left it as it was. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Add some cheese on top and you got yourself the best darn soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Excellent! To speed it up, I start cooking the peas, while chopping the other ingredients. Cook time is onoy about an hour or so till correct consistency. I also add cut up ham steak. This gets rave reviews from pals at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This turned out a little too salty. I used Swansons chicken broth that was regular sodium. It was very good when I tasted it halfway through, but at the end it was too salty. Also I ate half without puree. The second half I pureed...I didn't like the texture and it intensified the saltiness. Also used half onion since I don't like strong onion flavor. I would make this again without the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
I made this recipe as a first course with Easter dinner and it was wonderful. I didn't change a thing and kept the recipe as stated. I'm so glad to have found a soup with such wonderful texture and taste. Add a little croutons when it's done and you have one great soup starter. Thanks Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
wow! This recipe is really great in taste and texture. I don't care for ones that have "potato" in them because it makes it really thick. This recipe still has that "thickness" without it being too heavy and yet it's very tasty! I made a few changes that included using leeks instead of onions, added "spike" salt-free seasoning and added a couple of smoked ham hocks while simmering. I pureed the whole thing then added the meat taken off the bones. I also added a cup or two of water(to compensate for the added saltiness of the ham hocks) then reheated the soup. Wonderful! Next time I'll omit the ham hocks and try the soup as is. But in my opinion, spilt pea and some kind of ham is why I love this type of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was my first time making or eating split pea soup-(split peas were on sale at the store so I thought I would give it a try!) Though it was a bit on the thick side, it has a wonderful flavor. I added just a bit more water to give it more of a "soupy" texture. I didn't even bother putting it through the blender, and I added some chopped up leftover ham. A cheap, filling meal- I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
My whole family sat down and ate every bite of it and we loved it. Even my baby loved it. My sister took down the recipe as well. Thank you for sharing your great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
really yummy and easy to do
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
This was so delicious! I rearranged stuff a bit, based on my tastes, such as--I used dried onion instead of fresh, left out the celery and the olive oil, only used 2 whole carrots, cut up, and I cut the chicken broth down to 4 cups. I also used "Emeril's Essence" for the "salt-free seasoning". But I grew up on a basic "water, peas and salt" soup, very blandish, and this turned out tasting better than even canned pea soup! My whole family loved it. This one's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States