Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I used a total of 7 cups of liquid instead, sauteed 3 strips of turkey bacons before adding all other ingredients. But with all the vegetables in it, I don't think it needs any bacons for flavoring! Will definitely make it again! and it freezes very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I added carrots, celery and potatoes near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly. I ran about half of it through the blender. It was very delicious. My 11 year-old requests it a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
I tried to impress my mom who loves split pea soup when she came to visit. It didn't work. As soon as I tasted it I knew she would be disappointed. I was very careful to follow the recipe EXACTLY as written. I will admit I've never made soup before, but don't know where I could have possibly went wrong. All I know is it did NOT taste like pea soup. She did say to try a little less onion next time and it would be fine, but I think she was being nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
This soup is very good just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
very disappointed in this soup considering all the 5 star reviews...not sure what it was, I am a big fan of meatless soups, but it was just okay.... I used half the onions as someone suggested, and made sure they were well sauteed, but it still came out tasting like onion mush...will not be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I really enjoyed this. Would definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I am used to pea soup cooked with a ham bone, but this is healthier and not bad at all. I made sure to saute the vegetables thoroughly before adding the remaining ingredients since I didn't want the onion to overpower the flavors. I didn't really see the need to get out the blender and puree any of the soup, so I left it as it was. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2005
Add some cheese on top and you got yourself the best darn soup ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
Excellent! To speed it up, I start cooking the peas, while chopping the other ingredients. Cook time is onoy about an hour or so till correct consistency. I also add cut up ham steak. This gets rave reviews from pals at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States