Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
You know what?..my first time attempting this kind of soup and I have to say it was awesome!! I followed the recipe exactly except I added a smoked ham hock (I like meat) and simmered it with the soup...Every one in the family loved it including my picky 12 year old who ate 3 bowls after being forced to taste it...This is a definite "make again"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2006
The soup is delicious. After only one hour I added a cup of diced ham and simmered another 15 minutes. I found that 75 minutes of simmering is plenty instead of the 2 1/2 hours stated. I too used an immersion blender (so much easier to blend right in the pot). I've made this twice now. When I told my husband I was going to make this (for the second time) he said "Like the last time? Cooool! Mmmmmmm!" Don't for get the crusty bread to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antoinette Katora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Point, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
Very good dish. Used vegetable broth to make it vegan, but added liquid smoke as others stated. Really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Neuberg-Ravolzhausen, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
A good tasting and very healthy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Excellent! I've never made split pea before and this was so easy I can't believe it. Followed the directions exactly and it is so tasty as is. Thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This soup was terrific. I made a couple of changes: used 1 1b. of green split peas instead of mix of both kinds, and also added 5 tablespoons of precooked bacon (the kind you can buy in the bottle from Hormel) for a smoky flavor. I also pureed the soup right in the pot with an immersion blender--very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
I love split pea soup and this is great! I left out the chicken bouillon and instead, added half of the ham flavoring that came with the green peas. Also, I didn't have any salt-free seasoning, so I added several shakes of curry to the pot and a good dash of cumin to each bowl. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FSUCHEF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This was decent. I was unsure as to what "salt free seasoning blend" meant, as it was very unspecific. I added parsley, salt and pepper. Don't think I'll try it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This is delicious! I've made this more than once, and it turns out wonderfully each time! Love the fact that it's so healthy, too. As a variation, I have added 1/4 tsp liquid smoke to the soup, which gives it a bit of "ham bone" flavor without the extra calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LYNNESTWINS
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This is my 3rd "tested" recipe for split pea soup. I've got to say that this is the very best! This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNESTWINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Snellville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States