Best Ever Split Pea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Followed someone's suggestion to use curry powder and pepper instead of the salt-free seasoning. Did not purée as I liked the consistency once it was cooked. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Nothing too write home about. A little bland. Will not try again, maybe its just not my thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I really enjoy this recipe. I never give 5 star if I alter it though... I cut the broth by a quarter and replaced that with water to lower the sodium a bit. For flavor, I added a teaspoon of cumin, a teaspoon of thyme, a bay leaf and 1/4 cup of sherry. Really loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was so easy, and it came out absolutely delicious! I didn't puree it since I don't have an immersion or regular blender, but it thickened up nicely while cooking. I soaked the peas for about 6 hours before beginning. I cut back a bit on stock - 4 cups chicken stock plus 1.5 cups of water. I added a few dashes of cayenne pepper for extra heat and added a cut up ham steak. I topped it with shredded cheese (asiago, pecorino, romano) and served with french bread. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
So delish! Read other reviews, and used 5 cups of broth. Also added cumin, turmeric, and some Worcester sauce. Yuuuummmm!!! It came out incredibly flavourful, Perfect comfort food for winter :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
So good that even my picky 4-year-old loved it! I added 3 cubed yukon gold potatoes and a teaspoon of curry powder as others suggested. Other than that followed recipe exactly. Great recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I grew up eating split pea soup and this recipe is a great start, but for extra flavor we always use a leftover ham bone or smoked turkey leg. My mom used to add cut up pieces of polska kielbasa which she pan fried first. Omit any extra salt if you do this. I also like to add 1/2 tsp of oregano and 1 tsp pepper. Try it this way and you will be coming back for seconds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Delish!! My changes: only green peas, instead of salt-free seasoning (didn't have) I used black pepper, curry and 4 bay leaves. I also did not add additional salt during cooking. I did not puree as I thought it was thick enough. There was a bit of broth and I liked that the carrots and celery were still mostly intact. Worried I wouldn't like it without ham bone/ham chunks. Needless energy waste. It was very tasty and I will make it again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This was a very good basic vegetarian split pea soup. I really like it and add a little sriracha to my bowl. My daughter is vegetarian, so I am always on the lookout for something we can all eat so this is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States