Best Ever Slow Cooker Italian Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I make this all the time. Any cut of beef will work. Also, I just use the Aujus Garvy and Italian Dressing mix, then add water instead of boullion. It is salty enough with just the mixes. The juice is perfect for a French Dip sandwich. This is my go to on busy days. I dont even thaw the meat sometimes, I just throw it in the crock pot frozen...YUMMY...!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I also add garlic and Kitchen Bouquet with a mixture of Wondra flour and water for gravy. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Well, tried to make as written as I am one of the first reviewers...turned out I didn't have an onion (thought I did, so didn't buy one), So I used some onion powder. It smelled great, and tasted pretty good. I think it's worth a try, but I won't make it again, and I don't think the onion thing made that big of a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
If the recipe calls for a chuck roast, then show that in the photo. The cut of beef shown is clearly no chuck roast i have ever used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Wonderful recipe. I added one 10 oz can of low sodium stewed tomatoes and 1/4 cup of banana peppers. Cooked on low for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I rarely use processed/packaged food but I needed something that I could throw into the slow cooker with little preparation so I decided to try this one. I made the recipe exactly as stated and could not be happier. This was absolutely delicious. I can't wait until tonight to use the leftovers for french dip sandwiches. Thanks so much for posting this recipe. We love it and will use it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have made this recipe for a few years now. I do not add broth just water (about 4 cups) because there is enough flavor from the au jus packet. I also throw in mushrooms for more deliciousness. Makes a great sandwich on toasted hoagie too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have been using this receipt for years. Add potatoes and carrots if you like. Also cook it a little longer and pull it apart with a fork and add bar-b-que sauce. Great for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
We added a small jar of sweet banana peppers, and browned the roast on all sides before putting it into the crock pot so that it would not be dry. I did not have the au Jus packet on hand, so made it without that. Will use this over and over as a main meal during fall and winter, especially to use for several meals on the weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I've never written a review, but this recipe is awesome. And so easy! I didn't even have the au jus seasoning, and I don't think it was even needed. I did add 2 cloves of minced garlic, baby carrots and Red potatoes, cut in half and unpeeled. Instead of salt and pepper, I sprinkled McCormick's Montreal Steak Seasoning on all sides, but don't over do it. I browned the meat on all sides first in a small amount of bacon fat that I had saved. Be sure to scrape all the pan drippings into the crock pot. I thought it would be nice to have a lot of gravy for "open faced" beef sandwiches on rolls so I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup and half a can of water. Wow! I never would have thought Good Season's dry Italian Salad Dressing could pack so much flavor. I see no reason to even try another recipe for slow cooker beef. This is it for me. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States