Best Ever Slow Cooker Italian Beef Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I'm not sure what I did wrong...but the meat was dry and rather tasteless... followed the instructions and cooked on low for 8 hours. After 6 it was completely cooked and dry...wish I could say I loved it as I was so excited to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Used 2/3 bottle of fat free Zesty Italian dressing instead of the dry mix. 1/2 can low sodium beef broth, 2 large onions quartered, 12 oz of sliced mushrooms, and the rest of the listed ingredients sans salt. Used corn starch with the remaining broth and it made a great sauce for smashed potatoes. It was a big hit at my house. I will add carrots the next time for even better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Came home to the smell of this roast ready and waiting as we walked in the door. The meat was tender, delicious and quickly gobbled up by the family. Made exactly as written, I thickened gravy a bit prior to serving. Quick, simple, keeper recipe...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Made with a Chuck Loin Roast as written except the au jus packet and I browned the meat; it was great. Used the liquid to make a delicious pan gravy. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
This was delicious! I used a rump roast since that's all I had. I also did not use the beef broth in order to reduce the sodium content, just 4 cups of water like some others suggested and I did not add any additional salt and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooksy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I grew up hating roast. My mom made it often and it was dry and stringy. I found this recipe and decided to give it a shot bcuz my new husband loves red meat. It was AMAZING!! Tender and juicy, it pulled apart with little more than a poke. And the Au Jus is the bomb! We made French Dips with it (+hoagie rolls & pepperjack cheese) and it was gobbled up! Even my teenage son, who usually refuses to eat red meat, had an entire sandwich and asked me to save him some leftovers. This one's a winner and we'll definitely have it again!! (Made exactly like recipe, but used a 14.5 oz can of beef broth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onion61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Delicious!! I did make a few changes. I didn't use the dry au jus since I couldn't find any without hydrolyzed soy protein ( which we try to avoid), and instead of the beef broth I used beef stock and added enough to completely cover the roast. I added mushrooms on top and otherwise followed the recipe. It was extremely succulent and tender. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
When I made this for a holiday-season birthday party, my family chowed down to a ridiculous extent - some people had three sandwiches! I guess this got their seal of approval! They raved, and all decided that this is our go-to sandwich from now on. It was very easy, and smelled amazing while cooking. I placed provolone and pepper jack cheese slices along with jalapenos and peperoncini to the side. Loved it, and will use the recipe forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
very tasty and soft, we like it so much..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States