Best Ever Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
this was a good recipe but we did something a little different. we used frozen shrimp, peeled and diced then stir fried it with garlic, minced celery, butter, and diced onions. the mix was then added to the rest of the ingredients with its sauce. the entire dip was the biggest hit of this past thanksgiving's party. it went really good with ritz crackers or any kind of cracker that doesn't have too much salt on it. i'll definitely be making this again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faye

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I add couple tblsp of chili sauce,and 1 tblsp horseradish and buy the canned shrimp and chop up, very very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
Awesome and extremely easy! I'll remember this when I need a quick emergency snack for drop-in company. I agree with a previous critic that there may be just a little too much mayonaise in it. Next time I'll reduce the mayo by maybe 2 tablespoons. Also, make sure you use fresh or frozen shrimp rather than canned to be assured of that wonderful shrimp flavor. Great on Triscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I like this recipe. I altered it just a bit by using 1/2 the mayo. Also, I use steamed shrimp, steamed with Old Bay and I add more Old Bay in the mixture. I'm from Maryland and we use Old Bay in all sorts of seafood recipes. It gives it a delcious flavor and spices up this delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Truly the "Best Ever"! ! I use only fresh cooked shrimp, none of the fake tasting canned or frozen stuff for me! ! I also use a little more celery & very mild onion than is called for, all chopped very fine. I think this would be good with crab or clams, too, but haven't tried it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
If you are not tasting shrimp, try using only domestic shrimp. It is wild caught from the ocean, so it has the wonderful shrimp taste and flavor you grew up with. If you don't ask for wild caught shrimp, you will get farm-raised from a foreign country. They are mushy and have no flavor. The recipe was great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcneelj

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Every time I make this everyone wants the recipe. So easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
I love seafood...especially shrimp. I originally doubled this recipe and made it for a pool party. My husband and I ended up not going to the party, but we've been enjoying the shimp dip at home for two days now!!!! It's really tasty! We've had it with Ritz crackers. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I've made this dip twice now, once leaving the shrimp whole, the second time pureeing the shrimp, but each time the dip has no shrimp flavor and merely tastes like mayonnaise and has watery consistency. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2000
yum....took this to work one day and we were eating shrimp dip at 10am. It was gone by 10:15. It is delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States