Best Ever Shrimp Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Very good recipe but I made the mistake of using 'light' mayo. It seperated and was watery. I put it in a sieve over a bowl and got almost 3/4 C. of liquid drained though. After the leftovers sat in the fridge another day, I still poured off a bit of liquid. I also chopped the schrimp a bit so it was the same size as the onion and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montesano, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I used (1) full lb. frozen, large shrimp, in coarse chunks (those canned tiny shrimp I think are completely tasteless), added Old Bay, green onions, reduced mayo by at least 1/4 as others suggested. Took it to neighborhood Christmas party with crackers and everyone loved it! This was gone by the next day. If you make it with real shrimp, it will not last at your house. This is now my go-to shrimp dip, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I hate to give this a bad review when everyone else loves it, but I did not like this recipe at all. The consistency was too thick and it tasted to much like just plain mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I would not make this again. It was a waste of ingredients. It ended up tasting like mayonnaise. I had to doctor it up to be able to eat it so I was not wasting groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stafford, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
scallions, old bay seasoning, garlic, ritz crackers, less mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Due to a recommendation, I used *1 lb*large-chopped frozen shrimp, and was so glad I did. Otherwise, IMO, there would have been way too much cream cheese mixture for only 8 oz. of shrimp. Was very good but needed some spice and I agree with using green onion to give it a fresher flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I made this with fresh shrimp and brought to a party. Everyone loved it and now I am asked for my "secret" recipe all the time.The only thing I added was red pepper on top and that was just for looks. Now for every party this is all I bring and its ALWAYS the hit of the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was a surprisingly good recipe!! I wasnt sure what to expect. I made sure to cook the shrimp in butter to give it a little more flavor. I also used more cream cheese than mayo. Just make sure to refrigerate before serving. Thanks for the quick and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Mmmmm. This is really good stuff. Now, I didn't follow the recipe exactly, so I'll tell you what I did different: 1 cup minced cooked (not canned) shrimp, 1/4 cup mayonnaise (thats all I had!), and no celery (didn't have any). I just made it a few minutes ago (I was barely able to wait for the shrimp to cool off!) and I'm eating it right now.......probably going to polish off half of it right now.....really good stuff! One could add and subtract from this dip to make it their own. I wasnt too sure I would like this, but it's awesome and lends it's self to customization. I'll use this simple yet wonderful recipe again for sure! So glad I tried this dip. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOBSTER
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is a tasty, easy and fast dip to make!! I used 2 cans (yes cans) of shrimp, fat free cream cheese, 2 heaping Tbsp of fat free mayo, green onions and Old Bay Seasoning. Make ahead and let the flavours meld some, delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

See how to make the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States