Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Wow! Really good! I actually made this in the crockpot because I was at work all day. I cut the sausage up first, browned it on the stove top. Put the sausage, onions, and peppers in the crockpot. Then I made the sauce (beer, tomato paste, and seasonings) on the stove in the pan I had used to brown the sausage. Added the sauce to the crockpot and cooked on low all day. We made into sandwiches and it had great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
453 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
This was a first for me. I have NEVER used beer with my sausage and peppers before. And look what I've been missing all this time! I used 2lbs. spicy Italian sausage, so I left out the hot sauce. I only had 2 each red and green bell peppers, so that's what went in the skillet, along with the 2 onions, 4 cloves of garlic, 1-1/2 cans of beer (I was thirsty), the tomato paste, 2 Tbsp. each of fresh chopped oregano and basil, and a sprinkle of dried parsley. Wouldn't have added cilantro even if I'd have had it. We ate these on Italian bread subs, and they were Oh-so-yummy! Even better for lunch the next day. Thanks, Robert... this recipe is now in my "Tried and True" file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
GREAT Recipe! I made this recipe yesterday. I browned the sausage and removed it from the pan, and added the onions, red peppers, and green peppers letting them absorb the sauce from the sausages. I removed the onions and peppers from the pan, and added the garlic, beer, tomato paste, 3 tablespoon of hot sauce, 1 tablespoon of oregano and fresh parsley, salt & black pepper. I let it simmer for about 10 minutes and I cut the sausage into bite size added everything back in pan, and continue cooking in low heat for about 45 minutes. I served it with rice. It came out Super! my husband and daughter loved it. For sure I will do this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I must admit that I am not a huge fan of sausage and peppers to begin with-but this recipe has changed my mind for good. Absolutely delicious. I felt like I was eating the prize winning sausage and pepper on a roll at the state fair. It's that good. Only changes were I only had one onion, used parsley instead of cilantro, and more green pepper than red...I used two thirds sweet and one third hot for the sausage. I did add a bit more paste than what called for as well. My husband moaned in satisfaction with every bite-I'm not kidding! I would suggest using a better grade of sausage-it tends to omit less fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Made this for a family gathering and used water instead of beer, since some folks would have freaked out at the hint of alcohol. Everyone enjoyed it, and next time I'll use beer for sure! Keep in mind that the success of the recipe depends on the quality of sausage you use. If you're lucky enough to live in an area with lots of places that make and sell their own sausage,I suggest that you try those varieties over the mass-produced national brands. Some of the national brands have large amounts of salt, fat and preservatives and if you can avoid some of that, you're ahead of the game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Excellent recipe and fairly easy to make. I cut the recipe in half but used a full can of tomato paste as someone had suggested. I cooked the sausage using my "no oil" method and it came out fine...pierce sausage all over with fork and cook in about 1/4 inch of water. Once the water boils off the sausage will fry in its own fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JossyRenee
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This was really wonderful. I cut the recipe down to 1 1/2 lbs of sausage, 2 red peppers, 1 green pepper, 1 large red onion and 2 small/medium yellow onions. I also used 1 1/2 cans of beer instead of 2. It was wonderful served over penne pasta, and also awesome on italian bread as a sandwich. Thanks for the recipe, Robert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JossyRenee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This recipe was extremely tasty! I'm not a beer drinker and I don't like peppers and onions! But the flavor was excellent. I cut up hot and mild sausage and cooked as I always do (in the oven @ 325 in a brown and serve bag for about 40 minutes) then I cut up the onions, peppers, garlic, (used Emeril's hot sauce and Labatt's Blue) and other ingredients and placed in a 4 qt. Nesco roasting oven. I mixed in the sausage and let simmer for 1 hour on low. (Melt in your mouth tender) Served on a crusty roll with provolone broiled on top in the oven. Yummy! Received "this is very good" reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I cut the recipe in 1/2 for my husband & I and ended up using a Michelob light ultra (which is a low carb beer), that was left over from a summer bash (we didn't care for the taste & what a better way to use it). I did use the whole 6 oz. of paste, & also used our butchers "medium" Italian sausage (which has a bit of kick to it) . I didn't cut the sausage up & served it in a sausage bun smothered with the sauce....YUUMMMYYYY!!!! My taste buds were yelpin! My picky husband LOVED it! Thanks very much Robert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I made this dish on new years for a bunch of friends and it was the hit of the party. I used Harpoon IPA for the beer, and it was fantastic. Any IPA (India Pale Ale) will do the trick. The only problem i had with this recipe was that the sauce was too thin for me. This is more than likley due to me adding too much beer, so i give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 409) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States