Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2002
This was AWESOME! My husband and I loved it. I even cut the recipe in 1/2 and it was delicious. The sauce was nice and thick and not too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert M. Catalano
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
Hi folks, I'm glad so many people enjoy my recipe, over the years I've read every review, and it makes me so proud!! Since I came up with this recipe, I've cut alcohol completely out of my diet, and have made the recipe using non-alcoholic beer and it works out just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Valley, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
Overall, this was a good recipe, but unless you have a large family, I would suggest using only half of the meat and cut down the number of peppers as stated in the recipe and use a pot instead of a skillet. I would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This was great. I added mushrooms and bacon in addition to the other ingredients. A hearty, delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This was delicious. I would have never thought of adding beer, but it really added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
This was excellent!!! I made it on spur of the moment last night and didn't have all the ingredients on hand and it was still fabulous!! I didn't have any peppers on hand so I only used onions, and I had no tomato paste so I just used some tomato sauce instead. I also cut the recipe in half. I served it over top of some Italian rolls and it was delicious! My husband loved it too, and he's a pretty hard sell when it comes to new recipes! I will definitely be making this again (and again, and again...). It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
We loved this meal. The sauce was so tasty. My husband said, "Put it in the rotation please!" I will serve the leftovers over angel hair pasta. When I prepared the meal I did cut the meat down to 2 pounds, and there was plenty. My one question would be what is the best beer to use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
This was the first time I ever made sausage & peppers and I got nothing but compliments on how great it was. Super recipe..Thanks Robert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
This recipe was delicious my husband and I love sausage and peppers, but this had such a wonderful flavor. We decided to serve over pasta. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I cut the recipe in 1/2 for my husband & I and ended up using a Michelob light ultra (which is a low carb beer), that was left over from a summer bash (we didn't care for the taste & what a better way to use it). I did use the whole 6 oz. of paste, & also used our butchers "medium" Italian sausage (which has a bit of kick to it) . I didn't cut the sausage up & served it in a sausage bun smothered with the sauce....YUUMMMYYYY!!!! My taste buds were yelpin! My picky husband LOVED it! Thanks very much Robert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States