Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I want to still give this a 5 even though I changed a tad of the ingredients.... the only change I made was with the spices... I didnt have cilantro and to be honest would not have used it anyway. I used fresh basil, dried oregego and parsley. I only had Hoeegardden available which is a belgium white beer, and doubled up the sausage because I was bringing this to my potluck event at church... Needless to say it was a hit, not a pepper/onion or sausage to be left. In fact someone took home the left over sauce that they want to put over some pasta or rice when they get home.... The sauce was delicious and the hot sauce just gave it a touch of heat that was just the right amount.. Plan on making this over and over... I actually made this recipe by mistake, there was another recipe on allrecipes that I made before that was similar, but used wine instead... when i got to reading/preparing this I saw the beer and said oops, but, went with it anyway and I am sure glad I did. Liked this much better... Thanks again love this website!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This recipe was fantastic!! I added a little more garlic, but overall my husband and I raved over it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I cut the recipe in 1/2 but used 6oz of tomato paste for the sauce and the original amount of seasonings called for (and only 1 beer). Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Very bitter. Made for 3 instead of 6. Husband said it was OK but he did not like all the peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Looked very good. Made it exactly as the recipe directed, Pretty tastless, I was disappointed. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Cut the sausage up and served everything in a bun! YUM! I used green and yellow peppers and parsley in place of the cilantro because that's what I had. These got inhaled...thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Aurora, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This is by far the best sausage and peppers recipe I've ever tried. I have never been a fan of the meal and stumbled upon this recipe when looking for one for my husband who loves the dish. Always willing to try a new recipe even if I don't typically enjoy the ingredients I took a bite and found it to be absolutely delicious! As one other reviewer noted I also found the sauce to be watery, next time I will use an extra can of paste. Amazing recipe overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Yummy, but very strong beer flavor. If you want less beer flavor, sub 1/2 chicken or beef broth for the beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This was great- so easy & tasty! Made it as written except halved it and didn't use any red peppers b/c I only had green. (also used kielbasa b/c that is what my husband bought but next time I'd use italian turkey sausage I think). Made it w/ some steak fries but might try rice next time b/c the sauce was yummmmy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States