Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed except I substituted basil for the cilantro and used only 2 red bell peppers, no green peppers, and one red onion. Also, I used 3 lb hot Italian sausage and no hot sauce. We used Shiner Bock beer. The sauce was thin, bitter, and far, far too "bell pepper-y" in flavor. We fished out the sausages and will use them in sandwiches, with spaghetti sauce, kind of like a meatball sub. But my husband complains about the waste of two beers and I'm sad I wasted the peppers and onion. Sorry, I know I'm swimming upstream on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This recipe is totally out of my comfort zone but absolutely delicious!!! Cook as recipe calls...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mauston, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Fabulous recipe! Who knew beer would make such delicious sauce! I followed the directions exactly as written except I used fresh polish sausage. If you're a fan of fresh polish sausage (not the name brand smoked kielbasa) try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was really, really delish! I only made a few small changes: I added only 1 1/2 beers, 2 cans of tomato paste and used 1 pack of hot sausage and 1 pack of sweet. I would have liked the sauce a bit thicker, although it was very tasty as I made it. Next time, I will add 1 beer (or maybe a tad less) and 2 cans tomato paste. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Simply delicious. I used one regular sausage and two hot sausages. Mmmm. Didn't have oregano or cilantro but otherwised followed to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
So good! Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I used Italian sausage and guiness. Next time I'll sauté the onions and garlic in a bit of olive oil before browning the sausage. The beer tends to cook off before the onions are done. The result is a great spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
WOW! What a great recipe, even my picky eater raved about this and warned me that there better be left overs for him for supper the next night. I served it over garlic buttered penne and it was a huge success. For this, I doubled the amt of tomato paste, but when I make it for sandwichs I do not change anything from the original recipe. I did make it in large quantity for an open house last summer using a big roaster. It was not quite as tasty as making it in the smaller quantity but it still went well and there were no left overs. I have been asked to make it again this summer for another open house. Thank you so much for offering this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I reduced the beer in the pot and then let it simmer for a few hours (only b/c I had the time). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kenessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I followed this recipe to a T..My husband hated it he thought there was too many peppers I thought it was ok. It did have a REALLY Strong Beer taste maybe if i make this again I'll cut the amount of beer to 1bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 410) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States