Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
It turned out pretty well, but I would recommend using a lighter flavored beer. Stouts work, but have a bit too strong a taste for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Count_Zero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I halved the recipe. Skipped the red bell pepper (used more green), regular onions instead of the red, dried herbs (Italian seasoning- homemade) and a lime beer. Was tasty on buns with melted cheese the for dinner, and leftovers were just as good over rice for lunch the next day. The tomato paste was a bit much, so I'll probably use less next time and thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
WOW! This was soooo good! I used the recommendation for the crock pot version. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and used a medium crock pot. I did end up using a whole 6 oz can of paste though to thicken it a little more. Also, to make it healthier I used low fat mild italian chicken sausage. I also used a light beer to lessen the beer taste. Did not use cilantro, used dried oregano and parsley. Next time I will wait to salt it and maybe use a low sodium paste though. The first night we had it on whole grain pasta, the second night as a sandwich. It was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed except I substituted basil for the cilantro and used only 2 red bell peppers, no green peppers, and one red onion. Also, I used 3 lb hot Italian sausage and no hot sauce. We used Shiner Bock beer. The sauce was thin, bitter, and far, far too "bell pepper-y" in flavor. We fished out the sausages and will use them in sandwiches, with spaghetti sauce, kind of like a meatball sub. But my husband complains about the waste of two beers and I'm sad I wasted the peppers and onion. Sorry, I know I'm swimming upstream on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This recipe is totally out of my comfort zone but absolutely delicious!!! Cook as recipe calls...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mauston, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Fabulous recipe! Who knew beer would make such delicious sauce! I followed the directions exactly as written except I used fresh polish sausage. If you're a fan of fresh polish sausage (not the name brand smoked kielbasa) try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was really, really delish! I only made a few small changes: I added only 1 1/2 beers, 2 cans of tomato paste and used 1 pack of hot sausage and 1 pack of sweet. I would have liked the sauce a bit thicker, although it was very tasty as I made it. Next time, I will add 1 beer (or maybe a tad less) and 2 cans tomato paste. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Simply delicious. I used one regular sausage and two hot sausages. Mmmm. Didn't have oregano or cilantro but otherwised followed to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
So good! Served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 414) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States