Best Ever Sausage with Peppers, Onions, and Beer! Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
The whole family LOVED this recipe. I just swapped out dry Italian Seasoning Mix and Dry Basil for the oregano as I didn't have oregano and because we love cilantro, I actually increased it to 4 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was delicious...I made it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Darn good stuff! I also added in chicken after browning and cubing like I did the sausage. My only change to the recipe would have been skip or use 1/3 of the tomato paste. I might add another bottle of beer in that case. But that is my personal taste. I used only 2 lb of meat and still had plenty for leftovers after dinner for 2 hungry adults. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gluten Free Jeannie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
It turned out pretty well, but I would recommend using a lighter flavored beer. Stouts work, but have a bit too strong a taste for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Count_Zero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I halved the recipe. Skipped the red bell pepper (used more green), regular onions instead of the red, dried herbs (Italian seasoning- homemade) and a lime beer. Was tasty on buns with melted cheese the for dinner, and leftovers were just as good over rice for lunch the next day. The tomato paste was a bit much, so I'll probably use less next time and thin it out a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
WOW! This was soooo good! I used the recommendation for the crock pot version. I cut the recipe in 1/2 and used a medium crock pot. I did end up using a whole 6 oz can of paste though to thicken it a little more. Also, to make it healthier I used low fat mild italian chicken sausage. I also used a light beer to lessen the beer taste. Did not use cilantro, used dried oregano and parsley. Next time I will wait to salt it and maybe use a low sodium paste though. The first night we had it on whole grain pasta, the second night as a sandwich. It was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
I made this exactly as instructed except I substituted basil for the cilantro and used only 2 red bell peppers, no green peppers, and one red onion. Also, I used 3 lb hot Italian sausage and no hot sauce. We used Shiner Bock beer. The sauce was thin, bitter, and far, far too "bell pepper-y" in flavor. We fished out the sausages and will use them in sandwiches, with spaghetti sauce, kind of like a meatball sub. But my husband complains about the waste of two beers and I'm sad I wasted the peppers and onion. Sorry, I know I'm swimming upstream on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
This recipe is totally out of my comfort zone but absolutely delicious!!! Cook as recipe calls...don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mauston, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Fabulous recipe! Who knew beer would make such delicious sauce! I followed the directions exactly as written except I used fresh polish sausage. If you're a fan of fresh polish sausage (not the name brand smoked kielbasa) try it, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 407) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States