Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These were easy and delicious! I read through all 181 reviews before I began. I followed the advice to use buttered popcorn, I did add popcorn salt. What I cut down was to use just 2 cups of powdered sugar. I left the rest the same, and did add 1 tspn vanilla after the syrup mixture was ready to come off the burner. I used 3 bags of microwave popcorn, and divided it up 1.5 bags for 1/2 the syrup mix to make it all easy to handle. For those who had a hard time making it stay in a ball, I wonder if you mixed it long enough and had let it cool down some, so that it was easier to set. ? Anyway, easy, easy for me. I did have a hard time getting the M&M's to stay put, so instead I made the popcorn balls and put different cookie-decorating type sugars in individual bags, and shook the decorations onto the ball, that worked great! I set them all out on wax paper, and wrapped in colored saran wrap. Very easy, and really delicious recipe. Not to sweet at all - I stayed away from the kettle corn, just because there was already so much sweet going in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are great popcorn balls! Gooey, delicious and not difficult to make. My only concern is I did not know how long to wait to make the balls and ended up burning my hands a couple of times. I did not want them to cool off too much and miss having the opportunity to put them together. I really like how simple this recipe is and reviewed it on my blog where you can see pictures of me making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I just made these for my little guys and their friends and they all loved them! I followed the recipe except I mixed a cup or more of M&M's in with the popcorn right before forming into balls. They were GOOEY and SOFT and VERY SWEET, I think next time I will try adding more salt to the popcorn and some swiss trail mix, maybe that will give it the sweet/salty flavor I was looking for. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good recipe. I made these for my daughter and her friends and added some red food coloring to make them pink. Very cute, easy, and tasty. I am planning to make them in orange for my daughter's halloween (fall fest, to be politically correct) party at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made these yesterday for my daughter's class. They were super simple to make and are very delicious! I did take the advice from some of the other reviews and added 1 tsp vanilla and used (4 bags) microwave popcorn. Other than that, I followed the directions and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I have never made popcorn balls. I attempted to once but it was a disater!!! this recipe was AWESOME! I read some reviews before making them and it helped. I added 2tsp.of vanilla right before i put the sugar mixture on the popcorn. I also added some cinnamon it added a little spice. salting the popcorn when its warm helps alot also. 3 bags of buttered popcorn was perfect. made about 20 balls. I made these for bunco, my boyfriend kept coming and eating them!! luckily it made more than I neede "). I highly recommend this recipe. its fast easy and super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I took some great advice from reviews. I used three bags of popcorn and did in three batches. I used a one cup measuring cup sprayed with Pam to make the balls and then tapped them out on wax paper. Then when they cooled I wrapped in plastic wrap. Very easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Mmmm... Soooo good! I finished making them about 20 minutes ago and I've already eaten 4!! My kids really enjoyed watching me make them.. and eating them too! I added some vanilla, seperated my popcorn into 3 batches, reheating my sugar mixture each time and I formed the balls in a muffin tin. They were so easy! I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I will be making this recipe. Sounds great but I wont add so much sugar/corn syrup. I made popcorn balls a few yrs ago for a party. After forming the balls and letting them come to room temp., I wrapped them in different color saran wrap(blue and red/pink) and tied them with a ribbon. They looked and tasted so delicious. The kids and adults loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Simply delicious! I read other reviewers comments before trying this recipe. Thank you all for your suggestions, it made the popcorn ball experience for my 8 year old daughter and I flawless!! We used 3/4 cup of unpopped popcorn, used a hot air popper, which made just a little under the amount we needed for 20 balls. The one tip I would make in addition to all the others is to place plastic wrap over a metal 1 cup measuring cup, place coated popcorn in it. Gather up plastic wrap, shape it into a ball and viola you have a popcorn ball with out much mess on your hands!! ENJOY! We are!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 371) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States