Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I made this with my kids. It was really easy to make and they loved them, especially knowing the marshmallow was in it. One quick note: measuring out 5 quarts of popcorn is kind of difficult. Definitely use three regular size bags of popcorn or you'll have too much sauce keeping them together...and instead of being lightly sweet, it's over powering and gets a cheesy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I'm just on day one, but these are the best popcon balls I've ever had! I don't really even like popcorn balls but now I do! The flavor and texture is so delicious. I did add vanilla though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I made these last year, and will make them again this year. They are YUMMY! Tip: These are not as good the next day. Day one they are a gooey ball of goodness, but they get hard on day two,so if you want to serve these at a party, I'd make them that morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooke'smom
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
OMG!!!!! these are the best popcorn balls ever!! I do have several suggestions that I took from other reviews that made my popcorn balls PERFECT! so this is what I did I used three bags butter microwave popcorn..that I pre popped and picked all of the seeds out of than I followed the directions exactly as is says except add 2tsp. Vanilla extract...the only other suggestion I used was to do the mixing in two separate batches which really helps..Also when your ready to form your balls use a 1 cup measuring cup and pack the mixture into the cup firmly (believe me you will b e glad you did this)other than that I had wonderful popcorn balls! this recipe made 12 one cup balls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke'smom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
These were easy and delicious! I read through all 181 reviews before I began. I followed the advice to use buttered popcorn, I did add popcorn salt. What I cut down was to use just 2 cups of powdered sugar. I left the rest the same, and did add 1 tspn vanilla after the syrup mixture was ready to come off the burner. I used 3 bags of microwave popcorn, and divided it up 1.5 bags for 1/2 the syrup mix to make it all easy to handle. For those who had a hard time making it stay in a ball, I wonder if you mixed it long enough and had let it cool down some, so that it was easier to set. ? Anyway, easy, easy for me. I did have a hard time getting the M&M's to stay put, so instead I made the popcorn balls and put different cookie-decorating type sugars in individual bags, and shook the decorations onto the ball, that worked great! I set them all out on wax paper, and wrapped in colored saran wrap. Very easy, and really delicious recipe. Not to sweet at all - I stayed away from the kettle corn, just because there was already so much sweet going in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
These are great popcorn balls! Gooey, delicious and not difficult to make. My only concern is I did not know how long to wait to make the balls and ended up burning my hands a couple of times. I did not want them to cool off too much and miss having the opportunity to put them together. I really like how simple this recipe is and reviewed it on my blog where you can see pictures of me making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I just made these for my little guys and their friends and they all loved them! I followed the recipe except I mixed a cup or more of M&M's in with the popcorn right before forming into balls. They were GOOEY and SOFT and VERY SWEET, I think next time I will try adding more salt to the popcorn and some swiss trail mix, maybe that will give it the sweet/salty flavor I was looking for. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good recipe. I made these for my daughter and her friends and added some red food coloring to make them pink. Very cute, easy, and tasty. I am planning to make them in orange for my daughter's halloween (fall fest, to be politically correct) party at school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made these yesterday for my daughter's class. They were super simple to make and are very delicious! I did take the advice from some of the other reviews and added 1 tsp vanilla and used (4 bags) microwave popcorn. Other than that, I followed the directions and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I have never made popcorn balls. I attempted to once but it was a disater!!! this recipe was AWESOME! I read some reviews before making them and it helped. I added 2tsp.of vanilla right before i put the sugar mixture on the popcorn. I also added some cinnamon it added a little spice. salting the popcorn when its warm helps alot also. 3 bags of buttered popcorn was perfect. made about 20 balls. I made these for bunco, my boyfriend kept coming and eating them!! luckily it made more than I neede "). I highly recommend this recipe. its fast easy and super delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 366) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States