Best Ever Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by casey29341
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I made this for my boys football team as a Halloween snack so I added a touch of orange food coloring. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
So easy to make and they are pretty yummy! My son loves them. I added butter instead of margarine as well as a bit of salt to cut the sweet. A little orange food colouring and they are a halloween treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I am not a fan of popcorn balls, but I can say this- my kids loved them and the balls are not all dried and hard, they are more chewy and do not crumble all over the place when bit into. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
After trying several recipes and raising quite a few blisterss, I tried this and loved it. I added wilton paste coloring and also tried a batch with liquid food coloring, and both worked well. I also put a gumdrop in the center of some and mixed candy in with others. Also added a tsp of vanilla after took it off the stove and added the color. Helped to let the formed balls dry out a little before packing in zip bags. Thanks for this treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
These are basically rice krispy treats with popcorn instead of rice krispies. If you like that, it's a fine recipe. I'll be looking around for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is a great recipe in its simplicity.The only thing I would note is it is worth it to try to pick out the unpopped kernals before you make and add the syrup. It is not any fun to chop down on one of those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Max2062

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
The mixture tasted good but I was disappointed in how soggy it made the popcorn. Guess I just prefer a crisper popcorn ball. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Sticky and hard to put together. Don't hold together well after putting together either. Seemed a bit too sweet. Prefer the simple recipe I've used for years that just uses butter and marshmallows just like I've always made Rice Krispy treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
These are tasty and easy to make. You have to be VERY CAREFUL when you mix the marshmallow into the popcorn because I decided to dive right in with my hands and gave myself 2 blisters on my pinky finger. Instead, stir it together with a big wooden spoon and then let it sit for 5 minutes before you form into balls. You will think the popcorn will start setting, but don't worry, it won't...you'll still be able to make balls with it. Also, clean your marshmallow stove pan with hot water right away or you will have a hard clean up job later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made these for my neice for Halloween. I added approximately 2 cups of Honey Roasted Peanuts and enough green food coloring to make them a dark lime-green color. They were awesome! Everyone loved them, kids and adults alike. I will definitely be making these again for other holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

See how to make rich toffee with chocolate and nuts.

Best Pumpkin Pie Ever

Discover the secret to rich, custardy pumpkin pie that won’t crack in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States